LillyDirect Foundayo Review: Price, Pros & Cons
Foundayo is Eli Lilly's own first-party, FDA-approved oral GLP-1 (orforglipron).
In this review
Prices at a glance
- Semaglutide
- Not disclosed
- Tirzepatide
- Not disclosed
- Coverage
- All 50 states
- Brand-name
- Yes
Who LillyDirect Foundayo may suit
Patients who want an FDA-approved, manufacturer-direct oral GLP-1 rather than a compounded injectable.
Where the value is
- First-party Eli Lilly program -- highest possible manufacturer authenticity
- FDA-approved branded drug (orforglipron), not an unapproved compounded formulation
- Published self-pay starting price ($149) via savings card
- Oral pill format, no injections/needles required
The tradeoffs
- Not semaglutide or tirzepatide -- a different molecule (orforglipron), so not directly comparable on this list
- The $149 price is tied to a specific Savings Card program with its own terms, not an unconditional list price
- No clarity on whether $149 is truly the ongoing monthly cost or could change
- No disclosed state coverage or prescribing-clinician details on this specific page
Foundayo's self-pay prices by dose
Foundayo is Eli Lilly's once-daily GLP-1 pill. Its active ingredient is orforglipron, not semaglutide or tirzepatide. Lilly sells it directly through its own LillyDirect pharmacy, and the self-pay price depends on your dose:
| Dose | Self-pay price per month |
|---|---|
| 0.8 mg (starting dose) | $149 |
| 2.5 mg | $149 |
| 5.5 mg | $199 |
| 9 mg | $299 |
| 14.5 mg | $299, if you refill within 45 days |
| 17.2 mg | $299, if you refill within 45 days |
Read the footnotes. The 2.5 mg and 5.5 mg prices are temporarily reduced through December 31, 2026. At the two highest doses, $299 applies only through Lilly's Self-Pay Journey Program, which requires a refill within 45 days. Miss that window and the regular price applies. Lilly defines a month as 30 days, says taxes and fees may be added, and reserves the right to change or end the offer.
Foundayo is FSA and HSA eligible, depending on your plan.
Considering LillyDirect Foundayo?
Check the plan total, billing period and cancellation terms before you enroll. A clinician decides whether treatment is appropriate.
If you have insurance
If you have commercial insurance that covers Foundayo, Lilly's savings card can bring your cost as low as $25 a month. People on government plans are excluded from that card. If you're on Medicare Part D and prescribed Foundayo for weight management, Lilly points you to a separate Medicare GLP-1 Bridge program.
When you fill through LillyDirect, savings are applied automatically, and its pharmacy partner checks your coverage and helps with prior authorization if it's needed. If you fill somewhere else, you may need to enroll in a Lilly savings program yourself.
You need your own prescriber
LillyDirect is a pharmacy, not a telehealth clinic. Lilly doesn't prescribe Foundayo itself. You talk to your own doctor, and they send the prescription to LillyDirect Pharmacy in Indianapolis, whose address and NPI number Lilly lists so your doctor can route it. If you don't have a doctor, LillyDirect links to independent virtual care companies and a search tool for in-person obesity specialists. Those services set their own fees.
Once the prescription arrives, a pharmacy partner contacts you to confirm details, look for savings, and arrange free home delivery or pickup at a nearby retail pharmacy.
How it compares with the injections
Foundayo is a brand-name, FDA-approved pill, and the medication comes straight from the manufacturer. It's taken once a day. The price here covers only the drug. Any doctor visits, labs or coaching are separate, so add your prescriber's fees to the monthly figure when you compare. Lilly's site includes the full safety information, which your doctor should go over with you before you start.
The Index scorecard
LillyDirect Foundayo scored on our six Cost-Efficiency Index factors. See the methodology.
The bottom line
Foundayo is Eli Lilly's own first-party, FDA-approved oral GLP-1 (orforglipron).
Compare the total cost of other GLP-1 programs and alternatives to LillyDirect Foundayo before deciding. A clinician should help you choose the right treatment.
Other programs to compare with LillyDirect Foundayo
These are partners: we may earn a commission if you sign up, at no cost to you.
Enhance MDPartner
Semaglutide modeled $212/mo · Tirzepatide modeled $280/mo
Enhance MD charges $212 a month for compounded semaglutide and $280 for tirzepatide at every dose, with lab work every six months included; the first month is $100 less.
HealthRXPartner
Semaglutide modeled $190/mo · Tirzepatide modeled $239/mo
HealthRX charges $190 a month for compounded semaglutide and $239 for tirzepatide month to month; the $99 and $179 it advertises are prepaid twelve-month prices.
SkinnyRxPartner
Semaglutide modeled $249/mo · Tirzepatide modeled $299/mo
SkinnyRx charges $99 for the first month of compounded semaglutide or tirzepatide, then $249 or $299 a month; prepaid plans bring semaglutide down to $199 a month.
Compare with other providers
The providers whose Cost-Efficiency Index scores sit closest to LillyDirect Foundayo's. See the alternatives to LillyDirect Foundayo.
- Zealthy— Zealthy is a broad telehealth platform whose weight-loss arm sells GLP-1s several ways, including an insurance-routed path for branded Ozempic, Wegovy, Zepbound and Mounjaro (advertised 'as low as $25/month' if coverage comes through) and an all-in compounded bundle.63/100
- Hone Health— Hone Health's only GLP-1 is compounded liraglutide, a daily injection at $160 a month plus a $25 or $155 monthly membership, and you start with a $65 lab panel and a video visit with a physician.63/100
- Chia— Chia charges $349 a month for compounded semaglutide and $399 for tirzepatide month to month; the "from $249" on its product pages is a committed multi-month rate.63/100
- TD Tele-Doc Weight Loss— TD Tele-Doc is a small, Richmond, VA-based virtual weight-loss clinic offering semaglutide 'starting at $199' -- but that price sits beside an insurance-eligibility check rather than standing as a flat cash rate.62/100
- Jently— Jently publishes retail monthly prices of $199 semaglutide and $259 tirzepatide, plus lower founding-member offers that need confirmation. MD Integrations supplies clinicians and Precision Compounding Pharmacy is named for fulfillment.62/100
- Potere Health MD— Potere Health MD is a Utah-based, physician-led weight loss clinic offering semaglutide and tirzepatide in both FDA-approved and compounded forms via telehealth and in-person visits.62/100
Pricing, states and verification reflect LillyDirect Foundayo's public disclosures at last review; the Cost-Efficiency Index is our editorial judgment per the methodology. Prices change — confirm on LillyDirect Foundayo's site. Not medical advice; see our disclosure.