Skip to content
WeighLab
Provider review

JRNYS Review: Price, Pros & Cons

By The WeighLab Bench, Tools & Data Desk

JRNYS is a telehealth weight-loss membership that prescribes brand-name GLP-1s through your insurance or compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide, and the membership itself buys no medication.

In this review
Check JRNYS prices Assume any provider we list may compensate us — we may earn a commission, at no cost to you. It never changes the Cost-Efficiency Index. See our disclosure.

Prices at a glance

Semaglutide
Not disclosed
Tirzepatide
Not disclosed
Coverage
Coverage not published
Brand-name
Yes

Who JRNYS may suit

Insured shoppers who want brand-name GLP-1s with coaching, or a compounded option, and can accept learning the medication price only after a consultation.

Where the value is

  • Brand-name GLP-1s (Wegovy, Ozempic, Zepbound, Mounjaro, Saxenda) through your insurance, plus compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide
  • The membership band ($89–$169/mo) is published before intake and is banded openly by level of coach support
  • Medical visits, daily monitoring and 1-on-1 coaching are included in the membership at every tier
  • Led by CMO Dr. Henry Legere (UC Berkeley, Columbia medicine, Harvard fellowship)
  • Members with commercial insurance may pay around $25 a month for the medication after any deductible

The tradeoffs

  • The membership is overhead, not a medication price: medication is priced separately and confirmed only after a provider consultation
  • The only medication figure shown is a compounded tirzepatide microdose card 'from $216/m'; no standard semaglutide or tirzepatide price is published
  • The $89 first telehealth fee isn't refunded once a doctor reviews your profile, and canceling needs 7 days' notice before the next billing date
  • The best case depends on commercial insurance coverage
  • The states it can prescribe in are not published

What a JRNYS membership costs

JRNYS sells a weight-loss membership, and the membership doesn't include medication. It runs from $89 a month to $169 a month, and the difference is how much one-on-one coaching you get. Every level includes medical visits, daily monitoring of the weight you log, coaching and members-only content. The membership can be paid with an HSA or FSA card.

Medication is priced separately, and JRNYS confirms what you'll pay only after your provider consultation. That makes it hard to work out a monthly total before you sign up. Ask for the full figure, membership plus medication at your starting dose and at the doses after it, before you pay.

Considering JRNYS?

Check the plan total, billing period and cancellation terms before you enroll. A clinician decides whether treatment is appropriate.

Brand-name drugs, with or without insurance

JRNYS leans on brand-name GLP-1s. Its providers prescribe Mounjaro, Zepbound, Ozempic and Wegovy, and its FAQ also mentions dulaglutide and liraglutide. It also lists compounded semaglutide and compounded tirzepatide, plus a compounded tirzepatide microdose plan from $216 a month.

There are two ways to get the drug. You can send the prescription to your local pharmacy and use your insurance. JRNYS doesn't bill insurers itself, but it sends prescriptions and helps with prior authorizations. It says most members with commercial insurance should pay no more than $25 a month for a GLP-1 once any deductible is met. That depends on your plan's coverage. Or you can choose a non-insurance option shipped to your door, priced during the consultation.

Plan on three to five days for the provider step and five to seven days before you pick up or receive your medication.

What the program asks of you

You start with a detailed medical intake. A provider reviews it within 24 hours, and the first visit, which covers your history, risk factors, goals and BMI, takes 30 minutes to an hour. If you don't qualify for a medication, you aren't charged for it.

After that, JRNYS expects you to log your weight at least three times a week and attend a 20-minute coaching session every two weeks. Programs are built around six- or twelve-month plans. The program was designed by JRNYS's founder and chief medical officer, Dr. Henry Legere, who trained at UC Berkeley and Columbia, with an immunology fellowship at Harvard. JRNYS doesn't list the states it serves, so check during the intake.

Canceling and fees

  • Cancel your membership through the patient portal or customer support at least seven days before your next billing date. Cancel later than that and there's no refund for the coming cycle. With more notice, JRNYS gives a prorated refund for the rest of the current cycle.
  • Your first telehealth fee of $89 isn't refundable once a doctor has reviewed your profile.
  • Missing an appointment, or canceling with less than 24 hours' notice, costs $25.
  • Medication can't be returned once it ships.

The Index scorecard

JRNYS scored on our six Cost-Efficiency Index factors. See the methodology.

Normalized Cost/Month45/100
Price Transparency54/100
Nationwide Access24/100
Formulation Options58/100
Clinical Oversight84/100
Contract Flexibility55/100

The bottom line

JRNYS is a telehealth weight-loss membership that prescribes brand-name GLP-1s through your insurance or compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide, and the membership itself buys no medication.

Compare the total cost of other GLP-1 programs and alternatives to JRNYS before deciding. A clinician should help you choose the right treatment.

Other programs to compare with JRNYS

These are partners: we may earn a commission if you sign up, at no cost to you.

  • bmiMDPartner

    Semaglutide modeled $159/mo · Tirzepatide modeled $249/mo

    bmiMD charges $159 a month for compounded semaglutide and $249 for tirzepatide month to month, the same at every dose, with lower prices on three-, six- and twelve-month plans.

  • RxSpan MDPartner

    Semaglutide modeled $249/mo · Tirzepatide modeled $329/mo

    RxSpan MD puts injections, oral capsules and three brand-name drugs on one account, with every price and plan length published; one month of the semaglutide injection is $249.

  • Sprout HealthPartner

    Semaglutide modeled $161.42/mo · Tirzepatide modeled $215.58/mo

    Sprout charges $149 every four weeks for compounded semaglutide and $199 for tirzepatide, or $99 and $149 a month if you prepay a full year.

Compare with other providers

The providers whose Cost-Efficiency Index scores sit closest to JRNYS's. See the alternatives to JRNYS.

Explore more provider reviews

Pricing, states and verification reflect JRNYS's public disclosures at last review; the Cost-Efficiency Index is our editorial judgment per the methodology. Prices change — confirm on JRNYS's site. Not medical advice; see our disclosure.

← Back to the value leaderboard