Skip to content
WeighLab
Provider review

1st Optimal Review: Price, Pros & Cons

By The WeighLab Bench, Tools & Data Desk

1st Optimal offers lab-guided hormone and metabolic care through memberships. Its entry Optimal Health plan is $39 a month; GLP-1 medication is priced separately at unpublished member rates.

In this review
Check 1st Optimal prices Assume any provider we list may compensate us — we may earn a commission, at no cost to you. It never changes the Cost-Efficiency Index. See our disclosure.

Prices at a glance

Semaglutide
Not disclosed
Tirzepatide
Not disclosed
Coverage
Coverage not published
Brand-name
Not confirmed

Who 1st Optimal may suit

Patients who want a named founding physician and a broader functional-medicine/hormone workup alongside GLP-1s.

Where the value is

  • Named founder and clinical lead: Dr. Amber Miller, a functional medicine physician
  • LegitScript verification badge displayed
  • No credit card required to start the intake quiz
  • Positions GLP-1 care within a broader labs-and-data-driven metabolic program

The tradeoffs

  • The membership is not the medication price; request a dose-specific drug quote and any lab charges
  • The public plan page now starts with a $39 Optimal Health membership rather than a separate published $99 Weight Loss Care plan
  • The dispensing pharmacy and treatment-specific state list are not published
  • Lab review and made-to-order treatment can add several weeks before a shipment

A membership first, medication priced separately

1st Optimal sells GLP-1 care as a membership. Its entry Optimal Health membership is $39 a month. It lists medical weight management among its services and includes required supplies, shipping, a half-hour monthly coaching session, a provider consultation for approved medication, and preferred pricing on follow-up labs. Ask which membership your treatment needs.

The medication is priced separately from the membership. Members buy treatments at what 1st Optimal calls a reduced members-only rate, and it doesn't publish those GLP-1 prices. Ask for the monthly medication cost at your dose, and what it becomes as the dose rises, before you commit. First-time members are offered 25% off a first purchase by email sign-up. It's all cash pay, no insurance needed, and HSA and FSA cards are accepted.

Considering 1st Optimal?

Check the plan total, billing period and cancellation terms before you enroll. A clinician decides whether treatment is appropriate.

Labs come before a prescription

This is a lab-led clinic, so expect more steps than a quick questionnaire. You start with a free intake call, then do lab testing at home or at a local lab. A provider reviews the results, meets with you, and builds the plan. Its weight loss pages list once-weekly injections and daily oral tablets as options.

That adds time. 1st Optimal says most lab results take 5 to 7 business days, and some of its more in-depth tests take 10 to 14. After the results are reviewed, a treatment order usually takes about 10 to 14 business days to be processed and shipped, because it's made to order by a partner pharmacy. It doesn't name the pharmacy. If you're transferring from another clinic, it accepts outside lab results and offers transfer discounts.

Billing dates and canceling

Memberships are month to month with no long-term contract, and they renew automatically. Billing runs on either the 1st or the 16th. Sign up between the 1st and 15th and you're billed on the 1st of each month after; sign up later and it's the 16th.

Medication is billed on a different clock. New patients are invoiced right after the provider appointment. Existing patients are invoiced about three weeks before each refill date, so a cancellation needs to land before that invoice if you don't want the next shipment. You cancel through a membership change request form, and member perks carry on for about a month after your last payment.

Before you book

  • 1st Optimal doesn't publish a list of states. It asks you to contact the team for the current list, so check yours first.
  • It's based in Clarkston, Michigan, and also sells hormone, peptide and menopause plans, which you'd pay for separately.
  • Ask which pharmacy fills the GLP-1 and whether it's compounded.
  • Get the medication price in writing, since membership is only part of the cost.

The Index scorecard

1st Optimal scored on our six Cost-Efficiency Index factors. See the methodology.

Normalized Cost/Month45/100
Price Transparency20/100
Nationwide Access24/100
Formulation Options51/100
Clinical Oversight84/100
Contract Flexibility61/100

The bottom line

1st Optimal offers lab-guided hormone and metabolic care through memberships. Its entry Optimal Health plan is $39 a month; GLP-1 medication is priced separately at unpublished member rates.

Compare the total cost of other GLP-1 programs and alternatives to 1st Optimal before deciding. A clinician should help you choose the right treatment.

Other programs to compare with 1st Optimal

These are partners: we may earn a commission if you sign up, at no cost to you.

  • WillowPartner

    Semaglutide modeled $299/mo · Tirzepatide modeled $399/mo

    Willow is a direct-to-consumer telehealth provider offering compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide in both injectable and oral-tablet form at identical prices per format.

  • MEDGmPartner

    Semaglutide modeled $299/mo · Tirzepatide modeled $399/mo

    MEDGm charges $299 a month for compounded semaglutide injections and $399 for tirzepatide once the $120 welcome coupon lapses, prints every plan length on its product pages, and names the four pharmacies that fill its prescriptions.

  • Luvo HealthPartner

    Semaglutide modeled $226.42/mo · Tirzepatide modeled $269.75/mo

    Luvo charges $209 every four weeks for compounded semaglutide and $249 for tirzepatide, with half off the first delivery and brand-name Ozempic or Zepbound available.

Compare with other providers

The providers whose Cost-Efficiency Index scores sit closest to 1st Optimal's. See the alternatives to 1st Optimal.

Explore more provider reviews

Pricing, states and verification reflect 1st Optimal's public disclosures at last review; the Cost-Efficiency Index is our editorial judgment per the methodology. Prices change — confirm on 1st Optimal's site. Not medical advice; see our disclosure.

← Back to the value leaderboard