Head-to-head · Cost-Efficiency Index
Actin vs Modern Age
Two GLP-1 programs on the bench, scored on the same six factors. Here's how their real cost of ownership compares — and which one we'd start with.
Actin
Cost-first shoppers who want not clearly established from public content -- insufficient disclosed detail to recommend a fit.
Visit ActinModern Age
Cost-first shoppers who want nYC-based patients who want GLP-1 prescribing bundled into an in-person longevity/aesthetics practice.
Visit Modern AgeThe verdict
Actin takes it, leading the Cost-Efficiency Index 39 to 38. Actin is a multi-condition telehealth platform (weight, hormones, sexual wellness, hair) that lists weight management among its service lines and claims to source from 'state-licensed compounding pharmacies. Modern Age still earns a C — Cost-first shoppers who want nYC-based patients who want GLP-1 prescribing bundled into an in-person longevity/aesthetics practice.
Worth knowing either way: our overall #1 pick is CoreAge Rx (Cost-Efficiency Index 94/100 — the top of the ranking). See how it stacks up: CoreAge Rx vs Actin.
Factor by factor
Both providers scored on our six Cost-Efficiency Index factors. The stronger side on each row is marked in teal.
Normalized Cost/Month
Price Transparency
Nationwide Access
Formulation Options
Clinical Oversight
Contract Flexibility
Pricing, coverage & formulary
The disclosed facts behind the scores. Lower price wins its row (teal).
| Spec | Actin | Modern Age |
|---|---|---|
| Cost-Efficiency Index | 39/100 | 38/100 |
| Semaglutide / mo | Not disclosed | $900/mo (plus a separate fee, brand-name) |
| Tirzepatide / mo | Not disclosed | $1,600/mo (plus a separate fee, brand-name) |
| Semaglutide / yr (modeled) | — | $10,800 |
| Tirzepatide / yr (modeled) | — | $19,200 |
| Coverage | Coverage not published | Coverage not published |
| Oral / sublingual | No | No |
| Brand-name access | Compounded only | Yes |
| Rank here | #530 | #534 |
Actin
39/100Where the value is
- Multi-condition platform (weight, hormones, sexual wellness, hair) under one account
- States it uses 'state-licensed compounding pharmacies' with third-party potency/sterility testing
- Clean, modern telehealth positioning
The tradeoffs
- No semaglutide or tirzepatide pricing published anywhere accessible
- No named compounding pharmacy partner despite claiming to use one
Modern Age
38/100Where the value is
- Prescribes real branded medications (Wegovy, Ozempic, Mounjaro) rather than compounded alternatives
- In-person clinical oversight with blood draws and bone scans
- Transparent (if wide-ranging) pricing disclosure of the $900-1600/month medication cost
The tradeoffs
- Single physical location in NYC only -- not usable by the vast majority of a nationwide audience
- Significantly more expensive than compounded-GLP-1 telehealth competitors
Assume any provider we list may compensate us — we may earn a commission, at no cost to you. It never changes the Cost-Efficiency Index. Pricing, states and verification reflect each provider's public disclosures at last review; prices change — confirm on the provider's site. Not medical advice. See our disclosure.