Skip to content
WeighLab

Head-to-head · Cost-Efficiency Index

ZipHealth vs Male Excel

Two GLP-1 programs on the bench, scored on the same six factors. Here's how their real cost of ownership compares — and which one we'd start with.

Higher scoreGrade C

ZipHealth

Shoppers in one of its 19 named states who want a low compounded-GLP-1 starting price and will call to confirm the branded-drug price.

Visit ZipHealth
VS
Grade C

Male Excel

Men who want GLP-1 weight care alongside testosterone or thyroid treatment from one physician-led team.

Visit Male Excel

The verdict

Too close to callGrade C vs C

ZipHealth and Male Excel tie on the Cost-Efficiency Index at 53/100, so neither wins outright on the numbers, so choose on fit. ZipHealth: Shoppers in one of its 19 named states who want a low compounded-GLP-1 starting price and will call to confirm the branded-drug price. Male Excel: Men who want GLP-1 weight care alongside testosterone or thyroid treatment from one physician-led team.

Worth knowing either way: CoreAge Rx is one of our partners and leads our leaderboard, where partners are listed first (Cost-Efficiency Index 94/100). See how it stacks up: CoreAge Rx vs ZipHealth.

Factor by factor

Both providers scored on our six Cost-Efficiency Index factors. The stronger side on each row is marked in teal.

Normalized Cost/Month

70
45

Price Transparency

30
20

Nationwide Access

24
66

Formulation Options

71
51

Clinical Oversight

75
85

Contract Flexibility

55
73

Pricing, coverage & formulary

The disclosed facts behind the scores. Lower price wins its row (teal).

SpecZipHealthMale Excel
Cost-Efficiency Index53/10053/100
Semaglutide / mo$149/moStarting dose, compoundedNot disclosed
Tirzepatide / moNot disclosedNot disclosed
Semaglutide / yr (modeled)$1,788—
Tirzepatide / yr (modeled)——
CoverageCoverage not published39 states
Oral / sublingualNoYes
Brand-name accessYesCompounded only
Rank here#438#439

ZipHealth

53/100

Where the value is

  • Named, NPI-verifiable prescribers: Laurie Lowe Nelson, APRN (NPI 1467595330) and Dr. Abhishek Patel, MD (NPI 1780944918)
  • LegitScript verification referenced with a link on its site
  • Free shipping with delivery speed options from USPS 1-5 day to FedEx overnight

The tradeoffs

  • The advertised $149/month floor excludes a separate $79 clinical service fee that recurs on repeat visits, not just at intake -- true floor is closer to $228
  • Branded medication programs (Zepbound, Wegovy Pen/Pill, Foundayo) are priced separately with no dollar figure published anywhere on the site
Visit ZipHealth

Full ZipHealth review →

Male Excel

53/100

Where the value is

  • Semaglutide injections, semaglutide pills and tirzepatide are all part of its program
  • The $99 monthly membership covers unlimited provider access, check-ins every 60 days and blood work every six months
  • No contract: you can cancel your treatment plan at any time

The tradeoffs

  • GLP-1 medication is billed on top of the $99 monthly membership, and its price isn't published
  • Starting requires a $99 online consultation with an at-home lab kit
Visit Male Excel

Full Male Excel review →

Assume any provider we list may compensate us — we may earn a commission, at no cost to you. It never changes the Cost-Efficiency Index. Pricing, states and verification reflect each provider's public disclosures at last review; prices change — confirm on the provider's site. Not medical advice. See our disclosure.

Keep comparing

← All head-to-head comparisons