Head-to-head · Cost-Efficiency Index
WeightWatchers Clinic vs TMates
Two GLP-1 programs on the bench, scored on the same six factors. Here's how their real cost of ownership compares — and which one we'd start with.
WeightWatchers Clinic
Shoppers who want a trusted mainstream brand to handle insurance paperwork for FDA-approved (not compounded) GLP-1 drugs.
Visit WeightWatchers ClinicTMates
Shoppers who want a flat price at every dose, with an oral semaglutide option and a provider who can also prescribe brand Wegovy or Zepbound.
Visit TMatesThe verdict
WeightWatchers Clinic and TMates tie on the Cost-Efficiency Index at 68/100, so neither wins outright on the numbers, so choose on fit. WeightWatchers Clinic: Shoppers who want a trusted mainstream brand to handle insurance paperwork for FDA-approved (not compounded) GLP-1 drugs. TMates: Shoppers who want a flat price at every dose, with an oral semaglutide option and a provider who can also prescribe brand Wegovy or Zepbound.
Worth knowing either way: CoreAge Rx is one of our partners and leads our leaderboard, where partners are listed first (Cost-Efficiency Index 94/100). See how it stacks up: CoreAge Rx vs WeightWatchers Clinic.
Factor by factor
Both providers scored on our six Cost-Efficiency Index factors. The stronger side on each row is marked in teal.
Normalized Cost/Month
Price Transparency
Nationwide Access
Formulation Options
Clinical Oversight
Contract Flexibility
Pricing, coverage & formulary
The disclosed facts behind the scores. Lower price wins its row (teal).
| Spec | WeightWatchers Clinic | TMates |
|---|---|---|
| Cost-Efficiency Index | 68/100 | 68/100 |
| Semaglutide / mo | $74/moBrand Wegovy, 12-month plan, plus a separate fee | $249/moMonth to month, same price at every dose, compounded |
| Tirzepatide / mo | Not disclosed | $297/moMonth to month, same price at every dose, compounded |
| Semaglutide / yr (modeled) | $888 | $2,988 |
| Tirzepatide / yr (modeled) | — | $3,564 |
| Coverage | All 50 states | Not published ("most states") |
| Oral / sublingual | No | Yes |
| Brand-name access | Yes | Yes |
| Rank here | #153 | #160 |
WeightWatchers Clinic
68/100Where the value is
- $25 first-month promotional rate on both the 12- and 6-month plans
- Dedicated Care Team handles insurance pre-authorizations, refills, and coverage maximization for GLP-1 drugs
- Non-GLP-1 medications (Metformin, naltrexone/bupropion) are included in the membership fee at no extra charge when filled via named partner pharmacy Carepoint (Schaumburg, IL)
The tradeoffs
- The $74-84/mo price is membership-only — the actual GLP-1 medication cost (Wegovy/Zepbound) is billed separately and is not disclosed anywhere on the site, so the headline number understates true cost for anyone without full insurance coverage
- Site states plainly 'there are no generic options for GLP-1s,' meaning cash-pay members face full branded pricing
TMates
68/100Where the value is
- Each product page lists every plan: semaglutide is $249 for one month, $650 for three, $1,050 for six and $1,900 for twelve; tirzepatide is $297, $800, $1,299 and $1,999
- The price covers the medication, telemedicine visits and coaching, and stays the same at every dose
- Semaglutide comes as a weekly injection or an oral option, and brand Wegovy or Zepbound can be prescribed for $99 a month to fill at your own pharmacy
The tradeoffs
- The "from $158" and "from $167" category prices are 12-month prepaid rates; month to month is $249 and $297
- No refund once your prescription is sent to the pharmacy
Assume any provider we list may compensate us — we may earn a commission, at no cost to you. It never changes the Cost-Efficiency Index. Pricing, states and verification reflect each provider's public disclosures at last review; prices change — confirm on the provider's site. Not medical advice. See our disclosure.