Head-to-head · Cost-Efficiency Index
Walgreens Weight Management vs Primary Clinic (Direct GLP)
Two GLP-1 programs on the bench, scored on the same six factors. Here's how their real cost of ownership compares — and which one we'd start with.
Walgreens Weight Management
Cost-first shoppers who want brand-name FDA-approved Wegovy access at a discounted self-pay starter rate from a national pharmacy chain they already trust.
Visit Walgreens Weight ManagementPrimary Clinic (Direct GLP)
Shoppers inside its 10 served states who want primary care bundled with the prescription and will price the membership in.
Visit Primary Clinic (Direct GLP)The verdict
Walgreens Weight Management takes it, leading the Cost-Efficiency Index 66 to 65. Walgreens Weight Management is a self-pay virtual-care add-on launched February 26, 2026, connecting eligible adults (18-64) in 29 states with licensed clinicians for a $49-per-visit consultation. Primary Clinic (Direct GLP) still earns a C — Shoppers inside its 10 served states who want primary care bundled with the prescription and will price the membership in.
Worth knowing either way: our overall #1 pick is CoreAge Rx (Cost-Efficiency Index 94/100 — the top of the ranking). See how it stacks up: CoreAge Rx vs Walgreens Weight Management.
Factor by factor
Both providers scored on our six Cost-Efficiency Index factors. The stronger side on each row is marked in teal.
Normalized Cost/Month
Price Transparency
Nationwide Access
Formulation Options
Clinical Oversight
Contract Flexibility
Pricing, coverage & formulary
The disclosed facts behind the scores. Lower price wins its row (teal).
| Spec | Walgreens Weight Management | Primary Clinic (Direct GLP) |
|---|---|---|
| Cost-Efficiency Index | 66/100 | 65/100 |
| Semaglutide / mo | $199/mo (0.25 mg dose, brand-name) | $85/mo (0.25-0.75 mg band, membership required, compounded) |
| Tirzepatide / mo | Not disclosed | $133/mo (1.25-2.5 mg band, membership required, compounded) |
| Semaglutide / yr (modeled) | $2,388 | $1,020 |
| Tirzepatide / yr (modeled) | — | $1,596 |
| Coverage | All 50 states | WA, NM, AZ, UT, FL, DC, KS, OK, VA, GA |
| Oral / sublingual | Yes | No |
| Brand-name access | Yes | Compounded only |
| Rank here | #145 | #146 |
Walgreens Weight Management
66/100Where the value is
- Backed by a major, publicly-traded national pharmacy chain (Walgreens) rather than an unknown startup
- Dispenses FDA-approved Wegovy, not compounded medication
- No monthly platform subscription fee — pay-per-visit ($49) instead
The tradeoffs
- The '$49 per visit, no subscription' headline is easy to misread as the total monthly cost — it is only the clinician fee; the drug itself costs $149-199+/mo on top
- Published prices are starter-dose only; Walgreens does not disclose what the maintenance dose costs once a patient titrates up, so real steady-state cost is likely higher
Primary Clinic (Direct GLP)
65/100Where the value is
- Both molecules are priced, as dose bands, so the cost of titrating up is visible rather than hidden
- The $89 membership buys unlimited primary care, direct text access and same-day appointments, not just a prescription
- Real per-dose pricing rather than one headline rate
The tradeoffs
- The medication price is on top of an $89/mo membership, which the FAQ states does not include the drug — all-in is about $174/mo semaglutide and $222/mo tirzepatide
- Prices are published as dose BANDS, and the cheapest tirzepatide band starts at 1.25 mg, below the 2.5 mg labeled starting dose
Assume any provider we list may compensate us — we may earn a commission, at no cost to you. It never changes the Cost-Efficiency Index. Pricing, states and verification reflect each provider's public disclosures at last review; prices change — confirm on the provider's site. Not medical advice. See our disclosure.