Head-to-head · Cost-Efficiency Index
Open Water Rx vs Male Excel
Two GLP-1 programs on the bench, scored on the same six factors. Here's how their real cost of ownership compares — and which one we'd start with.
Open Water Rx
Shoppers who want all-inclusive compounded GLP-1 pricing from four named 503A pharmacies and qualify for its promo codes.
Visit Open Water RxMale Excel
Men who want GLP-1 weight care alongside testosterone or thyroid treatment from one physician-led team.
Visit Male ExcelThe verdict
Open Water Rx and Male Excel tie on the Cost-Efficiency Index at 53/100, so neither wins outright on the numbers, so choose on fit. Open Water Rx: Shoppers who want all-inclusive compounded GLP-1 pricing from four named 503A pharmacies and qualify for its promo codes. Male Excel: Men who want GLP-1 weight care alongside testosterone or thyroid treatment from one physician-led team.
Worth knowing either way: CoreAge Rx is one of our partners and leads our leaderboard, where partners are listed first (Cost-Efficiency Index 94/100). See how it stacks up: CoreAge Rx vs Open Water Rx.
Factor by factor
Both providers scored on our six Cost-Efficiency Index factors. The stronger side on each row is marked in teal.
Normalized Cost/Month
Price Transparency
Nationwide Access
Formulation Options
Clinical Oversight
Contract Flexibility
Pricing, coverage & formulary
The disclosed facts behind the scores. Lower price wins its row (teal).
| Spec | Open Water Rx | Male Excel |
|---|---|---|
| Cost-Efficiency Index | 53/100 | 53/100 |
| Semaglutide / mo | $199/moPromotional rate, plus a separate fee, compounded | Not disclosed |
| Tirzepatide / mo | $339/moCompounded | Not disclosed |
| Semaglutide / yr (modeled) | $2,388 | — |
| Tirzepatide / yr (modeled) | $4,068 | — |
| Coverage | Coverage not published | 39 states |
| Oral / sublingual | Yes | Yes |
| Brand-name access | Compounded only | Compounded only |
| Rank here | #434 | #439 |
Open Water Rx
53/100Where the value is
- Names four specific 503A compounding pharmacies (RedRock, HealthWarehouse, Precision Compounding, Triad Rx) — most competitors disclose zero
- Pricing is genuinely all-inclusive — clinician review, medication, and shipping bundled with no separate visit fee
- LegitScript certification seals displayed
The tradeoffs
- The lower, more prominent $159/$219 figures depend on promo codes (SEMASUMMER, FOUNDER) stacked on top of stated $199/$339 standing prices — unclear whether these codes are permanent
- A '12-Week Plan' at $169/month strongly implies a multi-month prepay requirement, but the page never states the actual upfront total
Male Excel
53/100Where the value is
- Semaglutide injections, semaglutide pills and tirzepatide are all part of its program
- The $99 monthly membership covers unlimited provider access, check-ins every 60 days and blood work every six months
- No contract: you can cancel your treatment plan at any time
The tradeoffs
- GLP-1 medication is billed on top of the $99 monthly membership, and its price isn't published
- Starting requires a $99 online consultation with an at-home lab kit
Assume any provider we list may compensate us — we may earn a commission, at no cost to you. It never changes the Cost-Efficiency Index. Pricing, states and verification reflect each provider's public disclosures at last review; prices change — confirm on the provider's site. Not medical advice. See our disclosure.