Head-to-head · Cost-Efficiency Index
Walgreens Weight Management vs Vital Edge
Two GLP-1 programs on the bench, scored on the same six factors. Here's how their real cost of ownership compares — and which one we'd start with.
Walgreens Weight Management
Shoppers who want brand-name Wegovy at a self-pay starter rate through a national pharmacy chain they already use.
Visit Walgreens Weight ManagementVital Edge
Shoppers who want compounded, oral and brand-name GLP-1 options from one practice, with prices listed up front.
Visit Vital EdgeThe verdict
Walgreens Weight Management and Vital Edge tie on the Cost-Efficiency Index at 66/100, so neither wins outright on the numbers, so choose on fit. Walgreens Weight Management: Shoppers who want brand-name Wegovy at a self-pay starter rate through a national pharmacy chain they already use. Vital Edge: Shoppers who want compounded, oral and brand-name GLP-1 options from one practice, with prices listed up front.
Worth knowing either way: CoreAge Rx is one of our partners and leads our leaderboard, where partners are listed first (Cost-Efficiency Index 94/100). See how it stacks up: CoreAge Rx vs Walgreens Weight Management.
Factor by factor
Both providers scored on our six Cost-Efficiency Index factors. The stronger side on each row is marked in teal.
Normalized Cost/Month
Price Transparency
Nationwide Access
Formulation Options
Clinical Oversight
Contract Flexibility
Pricing, coverage & formulary
The disclosed facts behind the scores. Lower price wins its row (teal).
| Spec | Walgreens Weight Management | Vital Edge |
|---|---|---|
| Cost-Efficiency Index | 66/100 | 66/100 |
| Semaglutide / mo | $199/mo0.25 mg dose, brand-name | $350/moCompounded injection, flat monthly fee at every dose; oral capsules $199/mo |
| Tirzepatide / mo | Not disclosed | $450/moCompounded injection, flat monthly fee at every dose; oral capsules $269/mo |
| Semaglutide / yr (modeled) | $2,388 | $4,200 |
| Tirzepatide / yr (modeled) | — | $5,400 |
| Coverage | All 50 states | Not published |
| Oral / sublingual | Yes | Yes |
| Brand-name access | Yes | Yes |
| Rank here | #192 | #193 |
Walgreens Weight Management
66/100Where the value is
- Backed by a major, publicly-traded national pharmacy chain (Walgreens) rather than an unknown startup
- Dispenses FDA-approved Wegovy, not compounded medication
- No monthly platform subscription fee — pay-per-visit ($49) instead
The tradeoffs
- The '$49 per visit, no subscription' headline is easy to misread as the total monthly cost — it is only the clinician fee; the drug itself costs $149-199+/mo on top
- Published prices are starter-dose only; Walgreens does not disclose what the maintenance dose costs once a patient titrates up, so real steady-state cost is likely higher
Vital Edge
66/100Where the value is
- Every program price is listed on the homepage, and each includes the consultation, medication and shipping
- Flat monthly fee with no upcharge as your dose rises
- Unusually wide menu: compounded injections, compounded oral semaglutide ($199) and tirzepatide ($269) capsules, and brand Ozempic ($705), Mounjaro ($835), Wegovy ($990) and Rybelsus ($645)
The tradeoffs
- Its Terms of Service and HIPAA Notice links lead to a page-not-found screen, and no cancellation or refund terms are published
- If you aren't prescribed medication, you're charged an $80 telehealth consult fee
Assume any provider we list may compensate us — we may earn a commission, at no cost to you. It never changes the Cost-Efficiency Index. Pricing, states and verification reflect each provider's public disclosures at last review; prices change — confirm on the provider's site. Not medical advice. See our disclosure.