Skip to content
WeighLab
Menu

Head-to-head · Cost-Efficiency Index

Walgreens Weight Management vs Dr. Gillis' Wellness Center

Two GLP-1 programs on the bench, scored on the same six factors. Here's how their real cost of ownership compares — and which one we'd start with.

Better valueGrade C · #155

Walgreens Weight Management

Cost-first shoppers who want brand-name FDA-approved Wegovy access at a discounted self-pay starter rate from a national pharmacy chain they already trust.

Visit Walgreens Weight Management
VS
Grade C · #159

Dr. Gillis' Wellness Center

Cost-first shoppers who want maine-based or Central-Maine patients wanting an experienced, board-certified physician offering sublingual ODT GLP-1 options.

Visit Dr. Gillis' Wellness Center

The verdict

Winner · Walgreens Weight ManagementGrade C vs C

Walgreens Weight Management takes it, leading the Cost-Efficiency Index 66 to 65. Walgreens Weight Management is a self-pay virtual-care add-on launched February 26, 2026, connecting eligible adults (18-64) in 29 states with licensed clinicians for a $49-per-visit consultation. Dr. Gillis' Wellness Center still earns a CCost-first shoppers who want maine-based or Central-Maine patients wanting an experienced, board-certified physician offering sublingual ODT GLP-1 options.

Worth knowing either way: our overall #1 pick is CoreAge Rx (Cost-Efficiency Index 94/100 — the top of the ranking). See how it stacks up: CoreAge Rx vs Walgreens Weight Management.

Factor by factor

Both providers scored on our six Cost-Efficiency Index factors. The stronger side on each row is marked in teal.

Normalized Cost/Month

47
28

Price Transparency

78
78

Nationwide Access

86
86

Formulation Options

77
82

Clinical Oversight

83
89

Contract Flexibility

20
37

Pricing, coverage & formulary

The disclosed facts behind the scores. Lower price wins its row (teal).

SpecWalgreens Weight ManagementDr. Gillis' Wellness Center
Cost-Efficiency Index66/10065/100
Semaglutide / mo$199/mo (0.25 mg dose, brand-name)$250/mo (starting dose, compounded oral)
Tirzepatide / moNot disclosed$325/mo (starting dose, compounded)
Semaglutide / yr (modeled)$2,388$3,000
Tirzepatide / yr (modeled)$3,900
CoverageAll 50 statesAll 50 states
Oral / sublingualYesYes
Brand-name accessYesCompounded only
Rank here#155#159

Walgreens Weight Management

66/100

Where the value is

  • Backed by a major, publicly-traded national pharmacy chain (Walgreens) rather than an unknown startup
  • Dispenses FDA-approved Wegovy, not compounded medication
  • No monthly platform subscription fee — pay-per-visit ($49) instead

The tradeoffs

  • The '$49 per visit, no subscription' headline is easy to misread as the total monthly cost — it is only the clinician fee; the drug itself costs $149-199+/mo on top
  • Published prices are starter-dose only; Walgreens does not disclose what the maintenance dose costs once a patient titrates up, so real steady-state cost is likely higher
Visit Walgreens Weight Management

Full Walgreens Weight Management review →

Dr. Gillis' Wellness Center

65/100

Where the value is

  • Led by a board-certified physician/surgeon with 25+ years of experience per the practice's own materials
  • Offers a broad GLP-1 menu — semaglutide, tirzepatide, and retatrutide — in both injectable and needle-free sublingual ODT form
  • No long-term contracts; flexible weekly, bi-weekly, or monthly dosing cadence

The tradeoffs

  • The advertised '$149 starting dose' is just that — a starting dose. The practice's own dedicated pricing page lists semaglutide 'Starting at $250/Month' and tirzepatide 'Starting at $325/month,' both well above the promotional figure
  • Nationwide/all-50-states coverage could not be confirmed on the practice's own site; third-party directories describe it as a Central Maine practice
Visit Dr. Gillis' Wellness Center

Full Dr. Gillis' Wellness Center review →

Assume any provider we list may compensate us — we may earn a commission, at no cost to you. It never changes the Cost-Efficiency Index. Pricing, states and verification reflect each provider's public disclosures at last review; prices change — confirm on the provider's site. Not medical advice. See our disclosure.

Keep comparing

← All head-to-head comparisons