Head-to-head · Cost-Efficiency Index
TOM Weight Loss vs Embody
Two GLP-1 programs on the bench, scored on the same six factors. Here's how their real cost of ownership compares — and which one we'd start with.
TOM Weight Loss
Cost-first shoppers who want texas or Utah residents who want the doctor visit and medication in one bundled monthly price.
Visit TOM Weight LossEmbody
Shoppers comparing low headline prices, who should confirm the actual charge at checkout given the company's own pages disagree.
Visit EmbodyThe verdict
TOM Weight Loss takes it, leading the Cost-Efficiency Index 62 to 59. TOM Weight Loss is a Texas/Utah-only compounded GLP-1 telehealth practice led by triple board-certified Dr. Tran Le, MD, DABOM. Embody still earns a C — Shoppers comparing low headline prices, who should confirm the actual charge at checkout given the company's own pages disagree.
Worth knowing either way: our overall #1 pick is CoreAge Rx (Cost-Efficiency Index 94/100 — the top of the ranking). See how it stacks up: CoreAge Rx vs TOM Weight Loss.
Factor by factor
Both providers scored on our six Cost-Efficiency Index factors. The stronger side on each row is marked in teal.
Normalized Cost/Month
Price Transparency
Nationwide Access
Formulation Options
Clinical Oversight
Contract Flexibility
Pricing, coverage & formulary
The disclosed facts behind the scores. Lower price wins its row (teal).
| Spec | TOM Weight Loss | Embody |
|---|---|---|
| Cost-Efficiency Index | 62/100 | 59/100 |
| Semaglutide / mo | $199/mo (all doses, bundle, plus a separate fee, compounded) | Not disclosed |
| Tirzepatide / mo | $249/mo (all doses, bundle, compounded) | Not disclosed |
| Semaglutide / yr (modeled) | $2,388 | — |
| Tirzepatide / yr (modeled) | $2,988 | — |
| Coverage | 2 states | All 50 states |
| Oral / sublingual | No | Yes |
| Brand-name access | Compounded only | Compounded only |
| Rank here | #215 | #221 |
TOM Weight Loss
62/100Where the value is
- Named, credentialed prescriber (Dr. Tran Le, MD, DABOM, NPI 1194212258) rather than an anonymous provider pool
- Flat pricing regardless of dose within a plan — no upcharge as you titrate up to 2.4mg or 15mg/week
- A genuine Medicare-eligible copay path ($50/month) is published, unusual among compounded-GLP-1 telehealth sites
The tradeoffs
- Only available in Texas and Utah — not a national provider despite the polished, generic-looking site
- The site lists a separate 'à la carte' $100/mo price that is medication-only with the doctor visit billed apart — a naive read could mistake this for a $100 all-in equivalent to the $199 Basic plan
Embody
59/100Where the value is
- Flat pricing stated not to rise with dose or across months on the same plan
- No membership fee and no long-term contract — cancel anytime
- Four named compounding pharmacies across four different states, reducing single-facility risk
The tradeoffs
- The company's own pages quote different prices for the same product — $79/$129 on the main domain vs. $69/$119 (crossed out from a much higher $299/$349) on its paid-traffic landing pages — with no way from the page content alone to know which a given customer will actually be charged
- The $299/$349 'original' prices used as strikethrough anchors on the funnel pages are not explained or substantiated anywhere on the main site
Assume any provider we list may compensate us — we may earn a commission, at no cost to you. It never changes the Cost-Efficiency Index. Pricing, states and verification reflect each provider's public disclosures at last review; prices change — confirm on the provider's site. Not medical advice. See our disclosure.