Head-to-head · Cost-Efficiency Index
Ro vs PlexusDx
Two GLP-1 programs on the bench, scored on the same six factors. Here's how their real cost of ownership compares — and which one we'd start with.
Ro
People who need brand-name (Wegovy/Zepbound) access or insurance navigation and will accept price opacity for it.
Visit RoPlexusDx
Shoppers who want a published starting price with an oral semaglutide option, all 50 states.
Visit PlexusDxThe verdict
Ro takes it, leading the Cost-Efficiency Index 84 to 82. The widest formulary — brand-name and oral access, with a named CMO — but the $149/mo (or $74/mo prepaid annual) membership fee is separate from the drug's own opaque, insurance-dependent price. PlexusDx still earns a B− — Shoppers who want a published starting price with an oral semaglutide option, all 50 states.
Worth knowing either way: our overall #1 pick is CoreAge Rx (Cost-Efficiency Index 94/100 — the top of the ranking). See how it stacks up: CoreAge Rx vs Ro.
Factor by factor
Both providers scored on our six Cost-Efficiency Index factors. The stronger side on each row is marked in teal.
Normalized Cost/Month
Price Transparency
Nationwide Access
Formulation Options
Clinical Oversight
Contract Flexibility
Pricing, coverage & formulary
The disclosed facts behind the scores. Lower price wins its row (teal).
| Spec | Ro | PlexusDx |
|---|---|---|
| Cost-Efficiency Index | 84/100 | 82/100 |
| Semaglutide / mo | Not disclosed (drug); $149/mo Ro Body membership separately | $149/mo (all doses, compounded) |
| Tirzepatide / mo | Not disclosed (drug); $149/mo Ro Body membership separately | $249/mo (all doses, compounded) |
| Semaglutide / yr (modeled) | — | $1,788 |
| Tirzepatide / yr (modeled) | — | $2,988 |
| Coverage | Multi-state | All 50 states |
| Oral / sublingual | Yes | Yes |
| Brand-name access | Yes | Compounded only |
| Rank here | #22 | #27 |
Ro
84/100Where the value is
- Brand-name access and a dedicated insurance concierge to help navigate drug coverage
- Oral options (including the newer Foundayo/orforglipron pill) widen the formulary
- Named, credentialed Chief Medical Officer (Dr. Melynda Barnes, MD) and a public LegitScript certificate (#3722005)
The tradeoffs
- Does not publish compounded pricing up front — a blind spot in any cost model
- The $74/mo membership figure often quoted requires a full year prepaid upfront; month-to-month membership billing is $149/mo, and the drug cost is a separate charge on top of either
PlexusDx
82/100Where the value is
- LegitScript Certified, stated directly on the homepage
- Both injection and oral tablet formats for semaglutide from the same starting price
- All 50 states served
The tradeoffs
- 'Starts at' pricing — the page does not disclose what higher doses cost, so $149/$249 is a floor, not what most patients settling into a maintenance dose will pay
- No named prescriber, medical director, or specific compounding pharmacy
Assume any provider we list may compensate us — we may earn a commission, at no cost to you. It never changes the Cost-Efficiency Index. Pricing, states and verification reflect each provider's public disclosures at last review; prices change — confirm on the provider's site. Not medical advice. See our disclosure.