Head-to-head · Cost-Efficiency Index
Ro vs Hims & Hers
Two GLP-1 programs on the bench, scored on the same six factors. Here's how their real cost of ownership compares — and which one we'd start with.
Ro
People who need brand-name (Wegovy/Zepbound) access or insurance navigation and will accept price opacity for it.
Visit RoHims & Hers
People who want a familiar, app-driven consumer brand and only need semaglutide.
Visit Hims & HersThe verdict
Ro takes it, leading the Cost-Efficiency Index 84 to 83. The widest formulary — brand-name and oral access, with a named CMO — but the $149/mo (or $74/mo prepaid annual) membership fee is separate from the drug's own opaque, insurance-dependent price. Hims & Hers still earns a B — People who want a familiar, app-driven consumer brand and only need semaglutide.
Worth knowing either way: our overall #1 pick is CoreAge Rx (Cost-Efficiency Index 94/100 — the top of the ranking). See how it stacks up: CoreAge Rx vs Ro.
Factor by factor
Both providers scored on our six Cost-Efficiency Index factors. The stronger side on each row is marked in teal.
Normalized Cost/Month
Price Transparency
Nationwide Access
Formulation Options
Clinical Oversight
Contract Flexibility
Pricing, coverage & formulary
The disclosed facts behind the scores. Lower price wins its row (teal).
| Spec | Ro | Hims & Hers |
|---|---|---|
| Cost-Efficiency Index | 84/100 | 83/100 |
| Semaglutide / mo | Not disclosed (drug); $149/mo Ro Body membership separately | $199/mo |
| Tirzepatide / mo | Not disclosed (drug); $149/mo Ro Body membership separately | Not disclosed |
| Semaglutide / yr (modeled) | — | $2,388 |
| Tirzepatide / yr (modeled) | — | — |
| Coverage | Multi-state | All 50 states |
| Oral / sublingual | Yes | No |
| Brand-name access | Yes | Compounded only |
| Rank here | #20 | #22 |
Ro
84/100Where the value is
- Brand-name access and a dedicated insurance concierge to help navigate drug coverage
- Oral options (including the newer Foundayo/orforglipron pill) widen the formulary
- Named, credentialed Chief Medical Officer (Dr. Melynda Barnes, MD) and a public LegitScript certificate (#3722005)
The tradeoffs
- Does not publish compounded pricing up front — a blind spot in any cost model
- The $74/mo membership figure often quoted requires a full year prepaid upfront; month-to-month membership billing is $149/mo, and the drug cost is a separate charge on top of either
Hims & Hers
83/100Where the value is
- Nationwide
- Slick app experience
- Semaglutide priced up front for modeling
The tradeoffs
- Tirzepatide pricing not consistently disclosed
- Compounded supply has drawn industry-wide regulatory scrutiny
Regulatory note: the FDA issued a warning letter to Hims & Hers Health, Inc. dba Hims in September 2025. We still list and link to Hims & Hers; you should know the letter is on the public record before you decide.
Assume any provider we list may compensate us — we may earn a commission, at no cost to you. It never changes the Cost-Efficiency Index. Pricing, states and verification reflect each provider's public disclosures at last review; prices change — confirm on the provider's site. Not medical advice. See our disclosure.