Head-to-head · Cost-Efficiency Index
Open Water Rx vs CVS MinuteClinic
Two GLP-1 programs on the bench, scored on the same six factors. Here's how their real cost of ownership compares — and which one we'd start with.
Open Water Rx
Cost-first shoppers who want all-inclusive compounded GLP-1 pricing from four named 503A pharmacies, if you qualify for the promo codes.
Visit Open Water RxCVS MinuteClinic
Cost-first shoppers who want existing CVS patients wanting an in-person/insurance-billed visit for branded GLP-1s as part of general urgent care -- not a fit for shoppers comparing dedicated compounded-GLP-1 telehealth programs.
Visit CVS MinuteClinicThe verdict
Open Water Rx takes it, leading the Cost-Efficiency Index 53 to 52. Open Water Rx is a self-pay telehealth platform selling compounded semaglutide ($199/mo standing, $159/mo with a promo code), tirzepatide ($339/mo standing, $219/mo with a different promo code), and an oral GLP-1 option. CVS MinuteClinic still earns a C — Cost-first shoppers who want existing CVS patients wanting an in-person/insurance-billed visit for branded GLP-1s as part of general urgent care -- not a fit for shoppers comparing dedicated compounded-GLP-1 telehealth programs.
Worth knowing either way: our overall #1 pick is CoreAge Rx (Cost-Efficiency Index 94/100 — the top of the ranking). See how it stacks up: CoreAge Rx vs Open Water Rx.
Factor by factor
Both providers scored on our six Cost-Efficiency Index factors. The stronger side on each row is marked in teal.
Normalized Cost/Month
Price Transparency
Nationwide Access
Formulation Options
Clinical Oversight
Contract Flexibility
Pricing, coverage & formulary
The disclosed facts behind the scores. Lower price wins its row (teal).
| Spec | Open Water Rx | CVS MinuteClinic |
|---|---|---|
| Cost-Efficiency Index | 53/100 | 52/100 |
| Semaglutide / mo | $199/mo (promotional rate, plus a separate fee, compounded) | Not disclosed |
| Tirzepatide / mo | $339/mo (compounded) | Not disclosed |
| Semaglutide / yr (modeled) | $2,388 | — |
| Tirzepatide / yr (modeled) | $4,068 | — |
| Coverage | Coverage not published | Coverage not published |
| Oral / sublingual | Yes | Yes |
| Brand-name access | Compounded only | Yes |
| Rank here | #379 | #386 |
Open Water Rx
53/100Where the value is
- Names four specific 503A compounding pharmacies (RedRock, HealthWarehouse, Precision Compounding, Triad Rx) — most competitors disclose zero
- Pricing is genuinely all-inclusive — clinician review, medication, and shipping bundled with no separate visit fee
- LegitScript certification seals displayed
The tradeoffs
- The lower, more prominent $159/$219 figures depend on promo codes (SEMASUMMER, FOUNDER) stacked on top of stated $199/$339 standing prices — unclear whether these codes are permanent
- A '12-Week Plan' at $169/month strongly implies a multi-month prepay requirement, but the page never states the actual upfront total
CVS MinuteClinic
52/100Where the value is
- Backed by CVS's national retail pharmacy and insurance infrastructure
- Prescribes FDA-approved (non-compounded) GLP-1 products when appropriate
- Widespread physical locations plus some virtual visit options
The tradeoffs
- Not a dedicated GLP-1 weight-loss service -- one line item within a general urgent-care menu
- No compounded semaglutide/tirzepatide offered, where the rest of this comparison set does
Assume any provider we list may compensate us — we may earn a commission, at no cost to you. It never changes the Cost-Efficiency Index. Pricing, states and verification reflect each provider's public disclosures at last review; prices change — confirm on the provider's site. Not medical advice. See our disclosure.