Head-to-head · Cost-Efficiency Index
NovoCare Pharmacy vs Somira Health
Two GLP-1 programs on the bench, scored on the same six factors. Here's how their real cost of ownership compares — and which one we'd start with.
NovoCare Pharmacy
Patients who already have a Wegovy prescription and want the lowest-cost manufacturer-direct self-pay or insurance-copay price — not a fit for readers still looking for a prescriber.
Visit NovoCare PharmacySomira Health
Shoppers who want clear, honest side-by-side monthly-vs-quarterly pricing without a hidden prepay trap.
Visit Somira HealthThe verdict
NovoCare Pharmacy and Somira Health tie on the Cost-Efficiency Index at 57/100, so neither wins outright on the numbers. For most shoppers we'd start with NovoCare Pharmacy (ranked #309, a hair above #312) — Patients who already have a Wegovy prescription and want the lowest-cost manufacturer-direct self-pay or insurance-copay price — not a fit for readers still looking for a prescriber. But Somira Health is a genuine coin-flip alternative here.
Worth knowing either way: our overall #1 pick is CoreAge Rx (Cost-Efficiency Index 94/100 — the top of the ranking). See how it stacks up: CoreAge Rx vs NovoCare Pharmacy.
Factor by factor
Both providers scored on our six Cost-Efficiency Index factors. The stronger side on each row is marked in teal.
Normalized Cost/Month
Price Transparency
Nationwide Access
Formulation Options
Clinical Oversight
Contract Flexibility
Pricing, coverage & formulary
The disclosed facts behind the scores. Lower price wins its row (teal).
| Spec | NovoCare Pharmacy | Somira Health |
|---|---|---|
| Cost-Efficiency Index | 57/100 | 57/100 |
| Semaglutide / mo | Not disclosed | $189/mo (compounded) |
| Tirzepatide / mo | Not disclosed | $239/mo (compounded) |
| Semaglutide / yr (modeled) | — | $2,268 |
| Tirzepatide / yr (modeled) | — | $2,868 |
| Coverage | All 50 states | Coverage not published |
| Oral / sublingual | Yes | No |
| Brand-name access | Yes | Compounded only |
| Rank here | #309 | #312 |
NovoCare Pharmacy
57/100Where the value is
- First-party Novo Nordisk program — the most authoritative source for actual Wegovy self-pay and insurance-copay pricing, with no telehealth-platform markup
- Commercially-insured patients can pay as little as $25/month, capped at $100/month in savings
- New oral 'Wegovy Pill' option now available from $149/month, in addition to the injectable pen
The tradeoffs
- This is NOT a telehealth or prescribing service — it requires a valid Wegovy prescription obtained elsewhere, with no consultation or clinical support included
- Introductory pricing is time-limited: the $199/month pen offer expires 12/31/2026 (reverting to $349/month) and the 4mg pill price updates 8/31/2026
Somira Health
57/100Where the value is
- Both monthly and quarterly prices disclosed together -- no disguised 'starting at' prepay trick
- Four named, checkable compounding pharmacy partners across four states
- Serves all 50 states
The tradeoffs
- No medical director named on reachable pages
- True monthly (non-prepay) price is noticeably higher than the quoted quarterly rate
Assume any provider we list may compensate us — we may earn a commission, at no cost to you. It never changes the Cost-Efficiency Index. Pricing, states and verification reflect each provider's public disclosures at last review; prices change — confirm on the provider's site. Not medical advice. See our disclosure.