Head-to-head · Cost-Efficiency Index
LumiMeds vs Cora Health
Two GLP-1 programs on the bench, scored on the same six factors. Here's how their real cost of ownership compares — and which one we'd start with.
LumiMeds
Shoppers willing to prepay a longer term to chase the lowest advertised rate, and who value a named, board-certified medical director.
Visit LumiMedsCora Health
Shoppers willing to prepay a full year to lock in the lowest per-month rate, who can absorb a $1,188-$1,620 upfront charge.
Visit Cora HealthThe verdict
LumiMeds and Cora Health tie on the Cost-Efficiency Index at 60/100, so neither wins outright on the numbers. For most shoppers we'd start with LumiMeds (ranked #243, a hair above #248) — Shoppers willing to prepay a longer term to chase the lowest advertised rate, and who value a named, board-certified medical director. But Cora Health is a genuine coin-flip alternative here.
Worth knowing either way: our overall #1 pick is CoreAge Rx (Cost-Efficiency Index 94/100 — the top of the ranking). See how it stacks up: CoreAge Rx vs LumiMeds.
Factor by factor
Both providers scored on our six Cost-Efficiency Index factors. The stronger side on each row is marked in teal.
Normalized Cost/Month
Price Transparency
Nationwide Access
Formulation Options
Clinical Oversight
Contract Flexibility
Pricing, coverage & formulary
The disclosed facts behind the scores. Lower price wins its row (teal).
| Spec | LumiMeds | Cora Health |
|---|---|---|
| Cost-Efficiency Index | 60/100 | 60/100 |
| Semaglutide / mo | $99/mo (starting dose, 12-month plan, compounded) | Not disclosed |
| Tirzepatide / mo | $183/mo (starting dose, prepay plan, compounded) | Not disclosed |
| Semaglutide / yr (modeled) | $1,188 | — |
| Tirzepatide / yr (modeled) | $2,196 | — |
| Coverage | Coverage not published | All 50 states |
| Oral / sublingual | No | No |
| Brand-name access | Compounded only | Compounded only |
| Rank here | #243 | #248 |
LumiMeds
60/100Where the value is
- Named, credentialed Medical Director (Dr. Teresa Walsh, M.D., board certified in obesity medicine, licensed in all 50 states) rather than an anonymous 'board-certified physicians' claim
- LegitScript Certified and HIPAA compliant
- No membership requirement or subscription fee stated separately from the medication price
The tradeoffs
- Both headline prices are explicitly 'as low as' figures across monthly/3/6/12-month options, and the site does not publish what the plain month-to-month rate is versus the prepay-discounted floor — the true standalone monthly cost could not be confirmed
- Compounded medications are, by the site's own disclosure, 'not FDA-approved and have not been evaluated for safety and effectiveness by the FDA'
Regulatory note: the FDA issued a warning letter to Lumimeds in September 2025. We still list and link to LumiMeds; you should know the letter is on the public record before you decide.
Cora Health
60/100Where the value is
- Named Medical Director (Dr. Michael Wasef, MD) and two additional named clinical providers, not an anonymous network
- Two named, PCAB-accredited 503A compounding pharmacies disclosed, including one with a 20+ year operating history
- All-inclusive pricing — no separate membership fee and no per-dose-escalation surcharge
The tradeoffs
- The advertised $99/$135-per-month headline prices require paying $1,188/$1,620 upfront for a full year — a classic prepay-as-monthly presentation; the real month-to-month price is $175/$225
- A reader skimming only the plan-card headline has no way to see the annual commitment without opening the billing fine print
Assume any provider we list may compensate us — we may earn a commission, at no cost to you. It never changes the Cost-Efficiency Index. Pricing, states and verification reflect each provider's public disclosures at last review; prices change — confirm on the provider's site. Not medical advice. See our disclosure.