Head-to-head · Cost-Efficiency Index
Embody vs Healthicare
Two GLP-1 programs on the bench, scored on the same six factors. Here's how their real cost of ownership compares — and which one we'd start with.
Embody
Shoppers comparing low headline prices, who should confirm the actual charge at checkout given the company's own pages disagree.
Visit EmbodyHealthicare
Shoppers who want every line item of the price shown before checkout, in 44 states.
Visit HealthicareThe verdict
Healthicare takes it, leading the Cost-Efficiency Index 61 to 59. HealthiCare is a GLP-1 telehealth platform offering fully itemized compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide pricing (same price at every dose level) alongside a full brand-name menu (Ozempic, Wegovy, Mounjaro, Zepbound). Embody still earns a C — Shoppers comparing low headline prices, who should confirm the actual charge at checkout given the company's own pages disagree.
Worth knowing either way: our overall #1 pick is CoreAge Rx (Cost-Efficiency Index 94/100 — the top of the ranking). See how it stacks up: CoreAge Rx vs Healthicare.
Factor by factor
Both providers scored on our six Cost-Efficiency Index factors. The stronger side on each row is marked in teal.
Normalized Cost/Month
Price Transparency
Nationwide Access
Formulation Options
Clinical Oversight
Contract Flexibility
Pricing, coverage & formulary
The disclosed facts behind the scores. Lower price wins its row (teal).
| Spec | Embody | Healthicare |
|---|---|---|
| Cost-Efficiency Index | 59/100 | 61/100 |
| Semaglutide / mo | Not disclosed | $174/mo (all doses, plus a separate fee, compounded) |
| Tirzepatide / mo | Not disclosed | $264/mo (all doses, compounded) |
| Semaglutide / yr (modeled) | — | $2,088 |
| Tirzepatide / yr (modeled) | — | $3,168 |
| Coverage | All 50 states | Coverage not published |
| Oral / sublingual | Yes | No |
| Brand-name access | Compounded only | Yes |
| Rank here | #221 | #228 |
Embody
59/100Where the value is
- Flat pricing stated not to rise with dose or across months on the same plan
- No membership fee and no long-term contract — cancel anytime
- Four named compounding pharmacies across four different states, reducing single-facility risk
The tradeoffs
- The company's own pages quote different prices for the same product — $79/$129 on the main domain vs. $69/$119 (crossed out from a much higher $299/$349) on its paid-traffic landing pages — with no way from the page content alone to know which a given customer will actually be charged
- The $299/$349 'original' prices used as strikethrough anchors on the funnel pages are not explained or substantiated anywhere on the main site
Healthicare
61/100Where the value is
- Every component of the price is itemized on-page — medication, consult, prep, shipping, platform fee, and service fee are each individually listed rather than bundled into one opaque number
- Named medical director (Dr. Jonah Mink, Beluga Health) and named compounding pharmacy (Jungle Jim's Pharmacy/F&F Pharmacies, Fairfield, OH) with phone numbers for both
- No membership fee, same medication price regardless of dose, and 'cancel anytime, no commitments'
The tradeoffs
- Explicitly excluded from 10 states — CA, NV, NJ, NC, TX, MA, MS, NH, WV, DE — due to the pharmacy's dispensing license
- Brand-name first-month pricing ($1,199.99+) is at or above cash retail; the compounded tier is the only competitive option
Assume any provider we list may compensate us — we may earn a commission, at no cost to you. It never changes the Cost-Efficiency Index. Pricing, states and verification reflect each provider's public disclosures at last review; prices change — confirm on the provider's site. Not medical advice. See our disclosure.