Skip to content
WeighLab
Menu

Head-to-head · Cost-Efficiency Index

CVS MinuteClinic vs Lyfe Rx

Two GLP-1 programs on the bench, scored on the same six factors. Here's how their real cost of ownership compares — and which one we'd start with.

Better valueGrade C · #386

CVS MinuteClinic

Cost-first shoppers who want existing CVS patients wanting an in-person/insurance-billed visit for branded GLP-1s as part of general urgent care -- not a fit for shoppers comparing dedicated compounded-GLP-1 telehealth programs.

Visit CVS MinuteClinic
VS
Grade C · #389

Lyfe Rx

Shoppers who want one flat all-inclusive charge with no separate membership fee, in 49 states.

Visit Lyfe Rx

The verdict

Too close to callGrade C vs C

CVS MinuteClinic and Lyfe Rx tie on the Cost-Efficiency Index at 52/100, so neither wins outright on the numbers. For most shoppers we'd start with CVS MinuteClinic (ranked #386, a hair above #389) — Cost-first shoppers who want existing CVS patients wanting an in-person/insurance-billed visit for branded GLP-1s as part of general urgent care -- not a fit for shoppers comparing dedicated compounded-GLP-1 telehealth programs. But Lyfe Rx is a genuine coin-flip alternative here.

Worth knowing either way: our overall #1 pick is CoreAge Rx (Cost-Efficiency Index 94/100 — the top of the ranking). See how it stacks up: CoreAge Rx vs CVS MinuteClinic.

Factor by factor

Both providers scored on our six Cost-Efficiency Index factors. The stronger side on each row is marked in teal.

Normalized Cost/Month

45
40

Price Transparency

54
72

Nationwide Access

24
24

Formulation Options

69
66

Clinical Oversight

77
67

Contract Flexibility

61
55

Pricing, coverage & formulary

The disclosed facts behind the scores. Lower price wins its row (teal).

SpecCVS MinuteClinicLyfe Rx
Cost-Efficiency Index52/10052/100
Semaglutide / moNot disclosed$225/mo (plus a separate fee, compounded)
Tirzepatide / moNot disclosed$299/mo (plus a separate fee, compounded)
Semaglutide / yr (modeled)$2,700
Tirzepatide / yr (modeled)$3,588
CoverageCoverage not publishedCoverage not published
Oral / sublingualYesNo
Brand-name accessYesCompounded only
Rank here#386#389

CVS MinuteClinic

52/100

Where the value is

  • Backed by CVS's national retail pharmacy and insurance infrastructure
  • Prescribes FDA-approved (non-compounded) GLP-1 products when appropriate
  • Widespread physical locations plus some virtual visit options

The tradeoffs

  • Not a dedicated GLP-1 weight-loss service -- one line item within a general urgent-care menu
  • No compounded semaglutide/tirzepatide offered, where the rest of this comparison set does
Visit CVS MinuteClinic

Full CVS MinuteClinic review →

Lyfe Rx

52/100

Where the value is

  • Genuinely all-inclusive flat pricing — 'Every price covers your provider review, your medication, all medical supplies and free shipping,' with no separate membership charge unlike several competitors in this category
  • 49-state coverage explicitly disclosed ('throughout the United States with the exception of Alabama')
  • LegitScript Certified badge with a verification link displayed on the homepage

The tradeoffs

  • No dose (mg) is shown on the semaglutide or tirzepatide product listing, so a shopper cannot tell what starting dose $225/$299 actually buys before starting the intake
  • No compounding pharmacy is named beyond generic '503A pharmacy' language, and no medical director or prescriber is named anywhere on the site
Visit Lyfe Rx

Full Lyfe Rx review →

Regulatory note: the FDA issued a warning letter to Lyfe Rx in September 2025. We still list and link to Lyfe Rx; you should know the letter is on the public record before you decide.

Assume any provider we list may compensate us — we may earn a commission, at no cost to you. It never changes the Cost-Efficiency Index. Pricing, states and verification reflect each provider's public disclosures at last review; prices change — confirm on the provider's site. Not medical advice. See our disclosure.

Keep comparing

← All head-to-head comparisons