Head-to-head · Cost-Efficiency Index
AVARA Rx vs Cora Health
Two GLP-1 programs on the bench, scored on the same six factors. Here's how their real cost of ownership compares — and which one we'd start with.
AVARA Rx
Cost-first shoppers who want 50-state compounded GLP-1 with named pharmacy and clinical network.
Visit AVARA RxCora Health
Shoppers willing to prepay a full year to lock in the lowest per-month rate, who can absorb a $1,188-$1,620 upfront charge.
Visit Cora HealthThe verdict
AVARA Rx and Cora Health tie on the Cost-Efficiency Index at 60/100, so neither wins outright on the numbers. For most shoppers we'd start with AVARA Rx (ranked #246, a hair above #248) — Cost-first shoppers who want 50-state compounded GLP-1 with named pharmacy and clinical network. But Cora Health is a genuine coin-flip alternative here.
Worth knowing either way: our overall #1 pick is CoreAge Rx (Cost-Efficiency Index 94/100 — the top of the ranking). See how it stacks up: CoreAge Rx vs AVARA Rx.
Factor by factor
Both providers scored on our six Cost-Efficiency Index factors. The stronger side on each row is marked in teal.
Normalized Cost/Month
Price Transparency
Nationwide Access
Formulation Options
Clinical Oversight
Contract Flexibility
Pricing, coverage & formulary
The disclosed facts behind the scores. Lower price wins its row (teal).
| Spec | AVARA Rx | Cora Health |
|---|---|---|
| Cost-Efficiency Index | 60/100 | 60/100 |
| Semaglutide / mo | $229/mo (starting dose, compounded) | Not disclosed |
| Tirzepatide / mo | $279/mo (starting dose, compounded) | Not disclosed |
| Semaglutide / yr (modeled) | $2,748 | — |
| Tirzepatide / yr (modeled) | $3,348 | — |
| Coverage | All 50 states | All 50 states |
| Oral / sublingual | No | No |
| Brand-name access | Yes | Compounded only |
| Rank here | #246 | #248 |
AVARA Rx
60/100Where the value is
- Names its pharmacy partner (DiRx Health, Ft Lauderdale FL) — buyers can independently verify its licensure
- Names its clinical network (Beluga Health) — you can research the platform handling your prescriptions
- All 50 states explicitly listed on the FAQ — uncommon vs peers that just say 'nationwide'
The tradeoffs
- Operating legal entity not disclosed — only a Sheridan, WY registered-agent-style address surfaced
- Dose pricing not itemized — only 'starting at $229' semaglutide and 'starting at $279' tirzepatide
Cora Health
60/100Where the value is
- Named Medical Director (Dr. Michael Wasef, MD) and two additional named clinical providers, not an anonymous network
- Two named, PCAB-accredited 503A compounding pharmacies disclosed, including one with a 20+ year operating history
- All-inclusive pricing — no separate membership fee and no per-dose-escalation surcharge
The tradeoffs
- The advertised $99/$135-per-month headline prices require paying $1,188/$1,620 upfront for a full year — a classic prepay-as-monthly presentation; the real month-to-month price is $175/$225
- A reader skimming only the plan-card headline has no way to see the annual commitment without opening the billing fine print
Assume any provider we list may compensate us — we may earn a commission, at no cost to you. It never changes the Cost-Efficiency Index. Pricing, states and verification reflect each provider's public disclosures at last review; prices change — confirm on the provider's site. Not medical advice. See our disclosure.