Head-to-head · Cost-Efficiency Index
AmberHealth vs HealthSource
Two GLP-1 programs on the bench, scored on the same six factors. Here's how their real cost of ownership compares — and which one we'd start with.
AmberHealth
Cost-first shoppers who want not applicable -- this is an OTC supplement brand, not a GLP-1 prescribing telehealth service.
Visit AmberHealthHealthSource
Cost-first shoppers who want nothing distinguishing was found — the least-disclosed of the sites researched here.
Visit HealthSourceThe verdict
AmberHealth and HealthSource tie on the Cost-Efficiency Index at 61/100, so neither wins outright on the numbers. For most shoppers we'd start with AmberHealth (ranked #222, a hair above #229) — Cost-first shoppers who want not applicable -- this is an OTC supplement brand, not a GLP-1 prescribing telehealth service. But HealthSource is a genuine coin-flip alternative here.
Worth knowing either way: our overall #1 pick is CoreAge Rx (Cost-Efficiency Index 94/100 — the top of the ranking). See how it stacks up: CoreAge Rx vs AmberHealth.
Factor by factor
Both providers scored on our six Cost-Efficiency Index factors. The stronger side on each row is marked in teal.
Normalized Cost/Month
Price Transparency
Nationwide Access
Formulation Options
Clinical Oversight
Contract Flexibility
Pricing, coverage & formulary
The disclosed facts behind the scores. Lower price wins its row (teal).
| Spec | AmberHealth | HealthSource |
|---|---|---|
| Cost-Efficiency Index | 61/100 | 61/100 |
| Semaglutide / mo | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Tirzepatide / mo | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Semaglutide / yr (modeled) | — | — |
| Tirzepatide / yr (modeled) | — | — |
| Coverage | All 50 states | All 50 states |
| Oral / sublingual | No | Yes |
| Brand-name access | Yes | Compounded only |
| Rank here | #222 | #229 |
AmberHealth
61/100Where the value is
- No prescription or clinical intake required to purchase
- Transparent ingredient list disclosed on the product page
- Lower price point than prescription GLP-1 programs (as an OTC supplement)
The tradeoffs
- Does not contain or dispense actual semaglutide or tirzepatide -- a botanical supplement, not a GLP-1 drug
- Carries the standard FDA 'not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease' disclaimer
HealthSource
61/100Where the value is
- Offers an oral tirzepatide option in addition to injectable, which not every site in this set does
- States medication ships from an 'FDA 503A licensed partner pharmacy'
- 3-5 business day shipping stated
The tradeoffs
- Billed every 4 weeks rather than by calendar month, which adds roughly one extra charge per year versus a true monthly rate — an 8%+ real-cost increase the headline price doesn't convey
- The compounding pharmacy is never named, only described generically as 'FDA 503A licensed partner pharmacy'
Assume any provider we list may compensate us — we may earn a commission, at no cost to you. It never changes the Cost-Efficiency Index. Pricing, states and verification reflect each provider's public disclosures at last review; prices change — confirm on the provider's site. Not medical advice. See our disclosure.