Head-to-head · Cost-Efficiency Index
Allara Health vs ReadyRx
Two GLP-1 programs on the bench, scored on the same six factors. Here's how their real cost of ownership compares — and which one we'd start with.
Allara Health
Cost-first shoppers who want insured patients who want women's hormonal-health specialists to manage a GLP-1 prescription, not shoppers pricing the drug itself.
Visit Allara HealthReadyRx
Shoppers willing to complete an intake quiz before seeing their real price.
Visit ReadyRxThe verdict
Allara Health and ReadyRx tie on the Cost-Efficiency Index at 62/100, so neither wins outright on the numbers. For most shoppers we'd start with Allara Health (ranked #204, a hair above #211) — Cost-first shoppers who want insured patients who want women's hormonal-health specialists to manage a GLP-1 prescription, not shoppers pricing the drug itself. But ReadyRx is a genuine coin-flip alternative here.
Worth knowing either way: our overall #1 pick is CoreAge Rx (Cost-Efficiency Index 94/100 — the top of the ranking). See how it stacks up: CoreAge Rx vs Allara Health.
Factor by factor
Both providers scored on our six Cost-Efficiency Index factors. The stronger side on each row is marked in teal.
Normalized Cost/Month
Price Transparency
Nationwide Access
Formulation Options
Clinical Oversight
Contract Flexibility
Pricing, coverage & formulary
The disclosed facts behind the scores. Lower price wins its row (teal).
| Spec | Allara Health | ReadyRx |
|---|---|---|
| Cost-Efficiency Index | 62/100 | 62/100 |
| Semaglutide / mo | $149/mo (plus a separate fee, brand-name) | $159/mo (starting dose, compounded) |
| Tirzepatide / mo | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Semaglutide / yr (modeled) | $1,788 | $1,908 |
| Tirzepatide / yr (modeled) | — | — |
| Coverage | Coverage not published | All 50 states |
| Oral / sublingual | Yes | No |
| Brand-name access | Yes | Yes |
| Rank here | #204 | #211 |
Allara Health
62/100Where the value is
- In-network with major insurers (Aetna, Blue Cross Blue Shield/Anthem/Carefirst, Cigna, United Healthcare/Oxford/UMR, GEHA), which can make branded GLP-1s cheaper than any cash-pay compounded option for covered patients
- Prescribes FDA-approved branded GLP-1s (Wegovy, Zepbound) rather than unapproved compounded preparations
- Board-certified OB-GYNs, endocrinologists, and Registered Dietitians on a women's-health-specialized platform
The tradeoffs
- No GLP-1 medication price is published anywhere on the site — the $149/mo figure is a visit/membership fee only, and actual drug cost depends entirely on insurance or is undisclosed for self-pay
- Not a general low-cost GLP-1 shopping option — the platform is built around women's hormonal/PCOS specialty care, with GLP-1 as one treatment among many
ReadyRx
62/100Where the value is
- States 'No membership or hidden fees! Everything you need is included' on its landing page
- Every plan bundles 'Free shipping & unlimited physician messaging' and 'Personalized protocols, meal plans & coaching' per its own treatment-page copy
- Offers both compounded GLP-1s and a path to FDA-approved brand-name alternatives (Ozempic, Zepbound) through the same funnel
The tradeoffs
- Real per-drug, per-dose pricing is not published anywhere on the public site — the dedicated semaglutide and tirzepatide pages show literal '$XXX' placeholder text instead of numbers
- The only real number found, '$159,' is an unattributed general 'starting' price, not confirmed to apply specifically to semaglutide or specifically to tirzepatide
Assume any provider we list may compensate us — we may earn a commission, at no cost to you. It never changes the Cost-Efficiency Index. Pricing, states and verification reflect each provider's public disclosures at last review; prices change — confirm on the provider's site. Not medical advice. See our disclosure.