Evidence review
Missed a GLP-1 Dose? Wegovy and Zepbound Rules, and Restarting After a Break
The short answer
Missed-dose instructions depend on the exact product. Zepbound uses a four-day window; Wegovy injection depends on time until the next dose; Wegovy tablets skip a missed day. A longer break needs prescriber advice, and current Wegovy injection labeling calls for lower-dose re-escalation after two or more consecutive missed doses.
Section index06
A late injection, a missed daily tablet and several weeks without treatment are different situations. The brand, formulation and length of the interruption matter. A search result that says “take it as soon as you remember” leaves out too much information to be a universal GLP-1 rule.
Use the exact prescription label and instructions supplied with your medicine. The summaries below describe current branded-product labeling read in October 2026, rather than a personalized decision about whether you should inject today. If the instructions are unclear, contact the pharmacist or prescriber before taking a catch-up dose.
CoreAge Rx
$99/mo sema · $149/mo tirz
- Semaglutide
- $99/mo
- Tirzepatide
- $149/mo
- Coverage
- All 50 states
- Brand-name
- Compounded only
- Modeled / yr
- $1,188
CoreAge Rx charges one flat price at every dose, $99 a month for semaglutide and $149 for tirzepatide, with no membership fee.
Read the full CoreAge Rx review →Assume any provider we list may compensate us — we may earn a commission at no cost to you. It never moves the Index. See our disclosure.
WellMedr
54/100- Semaglutide
- Not disclosedSale price only, no standing rate
- Tirzepatide
- Not disclosed"Starting at" only, no standing rate
Compare the product before comparing the clock
| Product | Label summary for a single missed dose | Important distinction |
|---|---|---|
| Zepbound weekly injection | Administer within 4 days (96 hours) of the missed dose; after that, skip and resume the regular day | The label also requires at least 72 hours between doses when changing the weekly day |
| Wegovy weekly injection | If the next dose is more than 2 days away, take the missed dose as soon as possible; if less than 2 days away, skip | Ask the pharmacist if timing is at the boundary or otherwise unclear |
| Wegovy daily tablets | Skip the missed dose and take the next dose the following day | Do not use the weekly injection rule for a daily tablet |
These summaries come from the Zepbound and Wegovy prescribing information12. Other brands and oral products have their own labeling. Sharing an active ingredient does not make every administration instruction identical.
A longer break is a separate question
The current Wegovy injection label says that after two or more consecutive missed doses, dosage escalation should be reinitiated at a lower dose to reduce gastrointestinal adverse reactions2. Your prescriber needs to determine the restart plan. Do not choose a lower strength by guessing how to divide a pen or by using a conversion chart.
For Zepbound, the single-missed-dose window is not a complete restart protocol after weeks away1. Contact the prescriber if the break was longer, especially if it followed severe symptoms, illness or a procedure. This guide does not invent a universal number of weeks after which everyone returns to a particular dose.
If an old online article gives different advice, compare its date and product against the current leaflet. Labels can change. Your dispensing pharmacist can help resolve a conflict between a remembered instruction and the medicine you actually have.
What to have ready when you call
Write down the exact brand and formulation, prescribed strength, date of your last dose and the dates missed. Explain why treatment stopped. Tell the clinician about vomiting, dehydration, surgery, pregnancy or other changes since the last review. Mention any other diabetes medicines and whether you have been given a glucose-monitoring plan.
If the gap happened because the next shipment never arrived, say that. A shipping delay is not a reason to improvise a dose from an older vial. If you changed providers, give the new clinician your prior prescription and the actual treatment dates rather than only the advertised monthly plan.
A clear request is: “I last took this strength on this date and missed these scheduled doses. What is the restart plan, and do I need a different prescription?” Ask for the answer in writing so the next refill matches it.
Do compounded vials follow the same rules?
Do not automatically apply a branded pen's instructions to a compounded vial, dissolving tablet or oral drop. Compounded products are not FDA-approved, and their concentrations and instructions can vary. FDA has warned about dosing errors with compounded semaglutide, including confusion between milligrams, milliliters and syringe units3.
Give the pharmacist a photograph or exact transcription of the prescription label, not an internet conversion chart. A syringe unit is a volume marking, not a universal drug dose. Ask whether the existing vial is still within both its unopened dating and its after-puncture use period. Our vial-date guide separates those questions.
Do not make up a missed dose by doubling
A missed dose does not authorize an extra dose or a shorter interval than the product allows. If you accidentally took additional medicine, contact a medical professional promptly; severe symptoms need urgent assessment. Keep the package and label available so the exact product and amount can be identified.
The goal is to return to a supervised plan, not recover every scheduled milligram. A calendar can record what happened, but it cannot decide a dose. Read the titration guide for the difference between escalation and maintenance, and the switching guide if you are moving between molecules.
How to compare the cost of an interruption
Ask whether your membership continues billing while medication is paused, whether a restart appointment is included and whether an unused shipment can be stopped before processing. A prepaid plan can remain expensive even when you are not taking the medication. Canceling billing and changing medical treatment are separate tasks; make sure both are addressed.
For a hypothetical $300 shipment, using only half the intended supply before its written discard date means the usable portion has cost $300, not $150. That arithmetic does not justify using the remainder outside its instructions. It shows why refill timing, safe usable supply and the true monthly cost need to be considered together.
Frequently asked questions
Can I use Zepbound instructions for Wegovy?
No. Their missed-dose windows differ. Use the exact product label and contact a pharmacist if the timing is unclear.
Can I restart at my old dose after a long gap?
Ask your prescriber. The single-missed-dose rule is not a universal restart protocol, and current Wegovy injection labeling calls for lower-dose re-escalation after two or more consecutive missed doses.
Should I double the next dose?
Do not take an extra dose to make up for an interruption. Follow the product-specific instructions and contact your pharmacist or prescriber.
References
- Eli Lilly and Company (2026). Zepbound prescribing information, revised August 2026. Prescribing information. https://pi.lilly.com/us/zepbound-uspi.pdf
- Novo Nordisk (2026). Wegovy prescribing information. Prescribing information. https://www.novo-pi.com/wegovy.pdf
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration (2024). Dosing errors associated with compounded injectable semaglutide products. FDA. https://www.fda.gov/drugs/human-drug-compounding/fda-alerts-health-care-providers-compounders-and-patients-dosing-errors-associated-compounded
Medical disclaimer: This content is for general educational purposes only and is not medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always consult a licensed healthcare professional before starting, stopping, or changing any treatment.
Keep exploring
Zepbound & Wegovy Dosage Chart: Titration Schedule
Zepbound and Wegovy dosage charts from the FDA labels: starting dose, each step-up week by week, maintenance doses and the maximum, plus the Wegovy pill.
ReadAcid Reflux and Sulfur Burps on GLP-1 Treatment: What the Evidence Supports
Wegovy and Zepbound can cause belching and reflux. Understand sulfur-burp claims, food and timing questions, and symptoms that need medical assessment.
ReadHow Long Can Zepbound Be Out of the Fridge?
How long Zepbound can be out of the fridge: 21 days for the single-dose pen, per its FDA label. Plus Wegovy's windows and TSA rules for flying with a pen.
ReadOzempic vs Wegovy: Same Molecule, Different Approval, Different Bill
Compare Ozempic and Wegovy indications, injection and tablet dosing, heart and liver uses, and the insurance questions to ask before choosing treatment.
ReadConstipation on Ozempic, Wegovy or Zepbound: What to Track and When to Get Help
How to discuss GLP-1 constipation, review food and fluid intake, recognize warning signs and compare the follow-up support in your plan.
ReadTrumpRx GLP-1 Prices: Zepbound, Wegovy, Ozempic and the Wegovy Pill vs Compounded
TrumpRx GLP-1 prices by dose for Zepbound, the Wegovy pen and pill, and Ozempic, what each price covers, and how a year compares with compounded options.
Read