Skip to content
WeighLab

Head-to-head · Cost-Efficiency Index

YourEra vs Shields Pharmacy

Two GLP-1 programs on the bench, scored on the same six factors. Here's how their real cost of ownership compares — and which one we'd start with.

Higher scoreGrade C

YourEra

Shoppers comfortable starting an intake to see the price, who will confirm what month two costs before paying.

Visit YourEra
VS
Grade C

Shields Pharmacy

Patients whose provider already uses Shields; it isn't a place to start GLP-1 treatment.

Visit Shields Pharmacy

The verdict

Higher score · YourEraGrade C vs C

YourEra takes it, leading the Cost-Efficiency Index 43 to 36. YourEra advertises compounded semaglutide from $79 and tirzepatide from $159 with a new-patient coupon, but shows its standing monthly price only after you hand over an email address. Shields Pharmacy still earns a C — Patients whose provider already uses Shields; it isn't a place to start GLP-1 treatment.

Worth knowing either way: CoreAge Rx is one of our partners and leads our leaderboard, where partners are listed first (Cost-Efficiency Index 94/100). See how it stacks up: CoreAge Rx vs YourEra.

Factor by factor

Both providers scored on our six Cost-Efficiency Index factors. The stronger side on each row is marked in teal.

Normalized Cost/Month

45
45

Price Transparency

20
30

Nationwide Access

24
24

Formulation Options

66
40

Clinical Oversight

71
24

Contract Flexibility

47
55

Pricing, coverage & formulary

The disclosed facts behind the scores. Lower price wins its row (teal).

SpecYourEraShields Pharmacy
Cost-Efficiency Index43/10036/100
Semaglutide / moNot disclosedAdvertised from $79/mo with a new-patient coupon; the standing monthly rate shows only after you enter an emailNot disclosed
Tirzepatide / moNot disclosedAdvertised from $159/mo with a new-patient coupon; the standing monthly rate shows only after you enter an emailNot disclosed
Semaglutide / yr (modeled)——
Tirzepatide / yr (modeled)——
CoverageCoverage not publishedNot published
Oral / sublingualNoNo
Brand-name accessCompounded onlyCompounded only
Rank here#520#624

YourEra

43/100

Where the value is

  • No membership-fee structure; the site markets "No Hidden Costs" and says there are no long-term contracts, with pause or cancel from the patient portal
  • Prescriptions are "issued only if deemed medically appropriate" after evaluation by licensed US clinicians, stated plainly
  • Names its legal entity in its Terms of Service (YourEra, Inc. and/or its subsidiaries)

The tradeoffs

  • The homepage advertises semaglutide "from $79/mo" and tirzepatide "from $159/mo" with no plan length attached, and every sign-up button on it carries a 20% new-patient coupon, so neither figure is what a month-to-month plan costs after the first month
  • The price you will pay appears only after you enter an email address in the intake, so the standing monthly rate can't be checked before you sign up
Visit YourEra

Full YourEra review →

Shields Pharmacy

36/100

Where the value is

  • A compounding pharmacy that says it serves more than 5,000 providers
  • Says most orders turn around in about 48 hours and can ship straight to the patient
  • Lists a weight-management product line alongside hormone, pain and skin compounds

The tradeoffs

  • Sells through provider accounts; patients can't sign up or order without a prescriber
  • No public prices; the full catalog is behind a request form
Visit Shields Pharmacy

Full Shields Pharmacy review →

Assume any provider we list may compensate us — we may earn a commission, at no cost to you. It never changes the Cost-Efficiency Index. Pricing, states and verification reflect each provider's public disclosures at last review; prices change — confirm on the provider's site. Not medical advice. See our disclosure.

Keep comparing

← All head-to-head comparisons