Head-to-head · Cost-Efficiency Index
Velvet Rx vs Arc-1
Two GLP-1 programs on the bench, scored on the same six factors. Here's how their real cost of ownership compares — and which one we'd start with.
Velvet Rx
Cost-first shoppers who want comparing entry-level compounded GLP-1 prices across three formulations, for shoppers who don't need pharmacy/prescriber transparency up front.
Visit Velvet RxArc-1
Shoppers comparing headline GLP-1 starting prices who will click into the specific product page rather than trust the homepage figure.
Visit Arc-1The verdict
Velvet Rx takes it, leading the Cost-Efficiency Index 49 to 48. Velvet Rx sells compounded injectable semaglutide, injectable tirzepatide, and an oral GLP-1 option, headlined as 'as low as' $139/$179/$189 per month respectively with free overnight shipping and a 'cancel anytime' claim. Arc-1 still earns a C — Shoppers comparing headline GLP-1 starting prices who will click into the specific product page rather than trust the homepage figure.
Worth knowing either way: our overall #1 pick is CoreAge Rx (Cost-Efficiency Index 94/100 — the top of the ranking). See how it stacks up: CoreAge Rx vs Velvet Rx.
Factor by factor
Both providers scored on our six Cost-Efficiency Index factors. The stronger side on each row is marked in teal.
Normalized Cost/Month
Price Transparency
Nationwide Access
Formulation Options
Clinical Oversight
Contract Flexibility
Pricing, coverage & formulary
The disclosed facts behind the scores. Lower price wins its row (teal).
| Spec | Velvet Rx | Arc-1 |
|---|---|---|
| Cost-Efficiency Index | 49/100 | 48/100 |
| Semaglutide / mo | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Tirzepatide / mo | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Semaglutide / yr (modeled) | — | — |
| Tirzepatide / yr (modeled) | — | — |
| Coverage | Coverage not published | Coverage not published |
| Oral / sublingual | Yes | No |
| Brand-name access | Compounded only | Compounded only |
| Rank here | #427 | #431 |
Velvet Rx
49/100Where the value is
- Free overnight shipping explicitly stated
- 'Cancel anytime' — no long-term contract claimed
- Offers three formulation choices (injectable semaglutide, injectable tirzepatide, and an oral GLP-1) — more format options than most peers in this batch
The tradeoffs
- All three advertised prices are 'as low as' floors; the site never discloses what a standard maintenance dose costs
- No named medical director, prescriber, or compounding pharmacy anywhere on the marketing site
Arc-1
48/100Where the value is
- Both semaglutide and tirzepatide offered, with LegitScript Certified badge displayed and linked for verification
- Free 1-3 day shipping and a free consultation stated as included, with no separate visit-fee line item found
- Named founder physician (Dr. Todd Stearns) rather than an anonymous entity
The tradeoffs
- The homepage price ($199.99/mo for both drugs) and each drug's own product page (tirzepatide shows $149/mo) do not agree — the number you see depends on which page you land on
- Every dose variant on both product pages was shown as sold out/unavailable during this review, so the advertised price cannot currently be tied to a specific mg dose
Assume any provider we list may compensate us — we may earn a commission, at no cost to you. It never changes the Cost-Efficiency Index. Pricing, states and verification reflect each provider's public disclosures at last review; prices change — confirm on the provider's site. Not medical advice. See our disclosure.