Head-to-head · Cost-Efficiency Index
Strive Pharmacy vs CVS MinuteClinic
Two GLP-1 programs on the bench, scored on the same six factors. Here's how their real cost of ownership compares — and which one we'd start with.
Strive Pharmacy
Patients whose OWN clinic already prescribes through Strive — not for shoppers looking to start a new GLP-1 prescription directly.
Visit Strive PharmacyCVS MinuteClinic
Cost-first shoppers who want existing CVS patients wanting an in-person/insurance-billed visit for branded GLP-1s as part of general urgent care -- not a fit for shoppers comparing dedicated compounded-GLP-1 telehealth programs.
Visit CVS MinuteClinicThe verdict
Strive Pharmacy takes it, leading the Cost-Efficiency Index 53 to 52. Strive Pharmacy is a 503A/503B compounding pharmacy that primarily serves OTHER healthcare providers and clinics — not a direct-to-consumer telehealth site. CVS MinuteClinic still earns a C — Cost-first shoppers who want existing CVS patients wanting an in-person/insurance-billed visit for branded GLP-1s as part of general urgent care -- not a fit for shoppers comparing dedicated compounded-GLP-1 telehealth programs.
Worth knowing either way: our overall #1 pick is CoreAge Rx (Cost-Efficiency Index 94/100 — the top of the ranking). See how it stacks up: CoreAge Rx vs Strive Pharmacy.
Factor by factor
Both providers scored on our six Cost-Efficiency Index factors. The stronger side on each row is marked in teal.
Normalized Cost/Month
Price Transparency
Nationwide Access
Formulation Options
Clinical Oversight
Contract Flexibility
Pricing, coverage & formulary
The disclosed facts behind the scores. Lower price wins its row (teal).
| Spec | Strive Pharmacy | CVS MinuteClinic |
|---|---|---|
| Cost-Efficiency Index | 53/100 | 52/100 |
| Semaglutide / mo | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Tirzepatide / mo | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Semaglutide / yr (modeled) | — | — |
| Tirzepatide / yr (modeled) | — | — |
| Coverage | All 50 states | Coverage not published |
| Oral / sublingual | No | Yes |
| Brand-name access | Compounded only | Yes |
| Rank here | #381 | #386 |
Strive Pharmacy
53/100Where the value is
- Is a real, named 503A/503B compounding pharmacy rather than an anonymous telehealth brand
- Transparent about being provider-facing first: the site does not pretend to be a consumer GLP-1 shopping destination
The tradeoffs
- Not a direct-to-consumer option at all — there is no way for a new patient to get a semaglutide or tirzepatide prescription by visiting strivepharmacy.com; you need an existing prescriber relationship with a clinic that already partners with Strive
- No consumer pricing for any GLP-1 product exists anywhere on the site
CVS MinuteClinic
52/100Where the value is
- Backed by CVS's national retail pharmacy and insurance infrastructure
- Prescribes FDA-approved (non-compounded) GLP-1 products when appropriate
- Widespread physical locations plus some virtual visit options
The tradeoffs
- Not a dedicated GLP-1 weight-loss service -- one line item within a general urgent-care menu
- No compounded semaglutide/tirzepatide offered, where the rest of this comparison set does
Assume any provider we list may compensate us — we may earn a commission, at no cost to you. It never changes the Cost-Efficiency Index. Pricing, states and verification reflect each provider's public disclosures at last review; prices change — confirm on the provider's site. Not medical advice. See our disclosure.