Skip to content
WeighLab
Menu

Head-to-head · Cost-Efficiency Index

MDLive vs Nurx

Two GLP-1 programs on the bench, scored on the same six factors. Here's how their real cost of ownership compares — and which one we'd start with.

Better valueGrade C · #410

MDLive

Cost-first shoppers who want not a fit for GLP-1 price shopping -- best suited to patients who already have MDLIVE access for general primary care.

Visit MDLive
VS
Grade C · #411

Nurx

Shoppers who specifically want FDA-approved brand-name Wegovy/Zepbound access through an established telehealth brand and don't want a compounded product.

Visit Nurx

The verdict

Too close to callGrade C vs C

MDLive and Nurx tie on the Cost-Efficiency Index at 50/100, so neither wins outright on the numbers. For most shoppers we'd start with MDLive (ranked #410, a hair above #411) — Cost-first shoppers who want not a fit for GLP-1 price shopping -- best suited to patients who already have MDLIVE access for general primary care. But Nurx is a genuine coin-flip alternative here.

Worth knowing either way: our overall #1 pick is CoreAge Rx (Cost-Efficiency Index 94/100 — the top of the ranking). See how it stacks up: CoreAge Rx vs MDLive.

Factor by factor

Both providers scored on our six Cost-Efficiency Index factors. The stronger side on each row is marked in teal.

Normalized Cost/Month

45
45

Price Transparency

54
38

Nationwide Access

24
24

Formulation Options

53
79

Clinical Oversight

85
79

Contract Flexibility

55
55

Pricing, coverage & formulary

The disclosed facts behind the scores. Lower price wins its row (teal).

SpecMDLiveNurx
Cost-Efficiency Index50/10050/100
Semaglutide / moNot disclosed$1,379/mo (brand Wegovy)
Tirzepatide / moNot disclosed$1,079/mo (brand Zepbound)
Semaglutide / yr (modeled)$16,548
Tirzepatide / yr (modeled)$12,948
CoverageCoverage not publishedCoverage not published
Oral / sublingualNoNo
Brand-name accessYesYes
Rank here#410#411

MDLive

50/100

Where the value is

  • Backed by a major, established telehealth/insurance parent (Evernorth/Cigna)
  • Access to FDA-approved branded anti-obesity medications, not unregulated compounds
  • Broad general primary-care telehealth infrastructure

The tradeoffs

  • No dedicated GLP-1 or weight-loss program -- medications are folded into general primary care visits only
  • No medication-specific pricing published anywhere
Visit MDLive

Full MDLive review →

Nurx

50/100

Where the value is

  • Backed by Thirty Madison, an established telehealth parent company that also runs Keeps and Cove
  • Prescribes genuinely FDA-approved brand-name GLP-1s (Wegovy, Zepbound, Ozempic, Mounjaro, Saxenda, Victoza) rather than a compounded substitute
  • Names two Medical Directors on its team page (Dr. Peter Young, Dr. Neil Zlatniski)

The tradeoffs

  • Sells NO compounded semaglutide or tirzepatide at any price — a prior dataset's '$179/mo compounded' figure does not describe any product actually on this site
  • Nurx's own advertised medication prices ($1,000-$1,300/mo) are Nurx's estimate of what the PHARMACY will charge, not a price Nurx guarantees or collects — actual cost varies by pharmacy and insurance
Visit Nurx

Full Nurx review →

Assume any provider we list may compensate us — we may earn a commission, at no cost to you. It never changes the Cost-Efficiency Index. Pricing, states and verification reflect each provider's public disclosures at last review; prices change — confirm on the provider's site. Not medical advice. See our disclosure.

Keep comparing

← All head-to-head comparisons