Head-to-head · Cost-Efficiency Index
MDExam vs Velvet Rx
Two GLP-1 programs on the bench, scored on the same six factors. Here's how their real cost of ownership compares — and which one we'd start with.
MDExam
Cost-first shoppers who want a lower injectable-semaglutide starting price than the site's own headline claim advertises.
Visit MDExamVelvet Rx
Cost-first shoppers who want comparing entry-level compounded GLP-1 prices across three formulations, for shoppers who don't need pharmacy/prescriber transparency up front.
Visit Velvet RxThe verdict
MDExam and Velvet Rx tie on the Cost-Efficiency Index at 49/100, so neither wins outright on the numbers. For most shoppers we'd start with MDExam (ranked #423, a hair above #427) — Cost-first shoppers who want a lower injectable-semaglutide starting price than the site's own headline claim advertises. But Velvet Rx is a genuine coin-flip alternative here.
Worth knowing either way: our overall #1 pick is CoreAge Rx (Cost-Efficiency Index 94/100 — the top of the ranking). See how it stacks up: CoreAge Rx vs MDExam.
Factor by factor
Both providers scored on our six Cost-Efficiency Index factors. The stronger side on each row is marked in teal.
Normalized Cost/Month
Price Transparency
Nationwide Access
Formulation Options
Clinical Oversight
Contract Flexibility
Pricing, coverage & formulary
The disclosed facts behind the scores. Lower price wins its row (teal).
| Spec | MDExam | Velvet Rx |
|---|---|---|
| Cost-Efficiency Index | 49/100 | 49/100 |
| Semaglutide / mo | $192/mo (compounded) | Not disclosed |
| Tirzepatide / mo | $258/mo (compounded) | Not disclosed |
| Semaglutide / yr (modeled) | $2,304 | — |
| Tirzepatide / yr (modeled) | $3,096 | — |
| Coverage | Coverage not published | Coverage not published |
| Oral / sublingual | No | Yes |
| Brand-name access | Compounded only | Compounded only |
| Rank here | #423 | #427 |
MDExam
49/100Where the value is
- Injectable semaglutide at $192/mo undercuts the company's own advertised '$225 as low as' floor
- Accepts insurance for eligible patients in addition to cash-pay options
- 100% refund offered if a patient doesn't qualify after evaluation
The tradeoffs
- The site's own headline claim ('priced as low as $225/month') doesn't match either actual product price — tirzepatide at $258/mo is more expensive than the claimed floor, which should make a shopper distrust the headline number generally
- No specific dose is disclosed for either the $192 or $258 figure, making it impossible to know what's actually being compared
Velvet Rx
49/100Where the value is
- Free overnight shipping explicitly stated
- 'Cancel anytime' — no long-term contract claimed
- Offers three formulation choices (injectable semaglutide, injectable tirzepatide, and an oral GLP-1) — more format options than most peers in this batch
The tradeoffs
- All three advertised prices are 'as low as' floors; the site never discloses what a standard maintenance dose costs
- No named medical director, prescriber, or compounding pharmacy anywhere on the marketing site
Assume any provider we list may compensate us — we may earn a commission, at no cost to you. It never changes the Cost-Efficiency Index. Pricing, states and verification reflect each provider's public disclosures at last review; prices change — confirm on the provider's site. Not medical advice. See our disclosure.