Head-to-head · Cost-Efficiency Index
HealthSource vs LeanDose
Two GLP-1 programs on the bench, scored on the same six factors. Here's how their real cost of ownership compares — and which one we'd start with.
HealthSource
Cost-first shoppers who want nothing distinguishing was found — the least-disclosed of the sites researched here.
Visit HealthSourceLeanDose
Shoppers in one of its 17 served states who don't mind an undisclosed price increase after month one.
Visit LeanDoseThe verdict
HealthSource and LeanDose tie on the Cost-Efficiency Index at 61/100, so neither wins outright on the numbers. For most shoppers we'd start with HealthSource (ranked #229, a hair above #230) — Cost-first shoppers who want nothing distinguishing was found — the least-disclosed of the sites researched here. But LeanDose is a genuine coin-flip alternative here.
Worth knowing either way: our overall #1 pick is CoreAge Rx (Cost-Efficiency Index 94/100 — the top of the ranking). See how it stacks up: CoreAge Rx vs HealthSource.
Factor by factor
Both providers scored on our six Cost-Efficiency Index factors. The stronger side on each row is marked in teal.
Normalized Cost/Month
Price Transparency
Nationwide Access
Formulation Options
Clinical Oversight
Contract Flexibility
Pricing, coverage & formulary
The disclosed facts behind the scores. Lower price wins its row (teal).
| Spec | HealthSource | LeanDose |
|---|---|---|
| Cost-Efficiency Index | 61/100 | 61/100 |
| Semaglutide / mo | Not disclosed | $159/mo (starting dose, compounded) |
| Tirzepatide / mo | Not disclosed | $279/mo (starting dose, compounded) |
| Semaglutide / yr (modeled) | — | $1,908 |
| Tirzepatide / yr (modeled) | — | $3,348 |
| Coverage | All 50 states | Coverage not published |
| Oral / sublingual | Yes | No |
| Brand-name access | Compounded only | Compounded only |
| Rank here | #229 | #230 |
HealthSource
61/100Where the value is
- Offers an oral tirzepatide option in addition to injectable, which not every site in this set does
- States medication ships from an 'FDA 503A licensed partner pharmacy'
- 3-5 business day shipping stated
The tradeoffs
- Billed every 4 weeks rather than by calendar month, which adds roughly one extra charge per year versus a true monthly rate — an 8%+ real-cost increase the headline price doesn't convey
- The compounding pharmacy is never named, only described generically as 'FDA 503A licensed partner pharmacy'
LeanDose
61/100Where the value is
- Names its actual compounding pharmacy (Striker Pharmacy) unlike most competitors
- Real LegitScript certification badge with verifiable link
- Explicit published states-served list
The tradeoffs
- Headline prices are explicitly 'first month' only -- ongoing renewal price is never disclosed
- Only serves 17 states
Assume any provider we list may compensate us — we may earn a commission, at no cost to you. It never changes the Cost-Efficiency Index. Pricing, states and verification reflect each provider's public disclosures at last review; prices change — confirm on the provider's site. Not medical advice. See our disclosure.