Head-to-head · Cost-Efficiency Index
CoreAge Rx vs SmartPharmaRX
Two GLP-1 programs on the bench, scored on the same six factors. Here's how their real cost of ownership compares — and which one we'd start with.
CoreAge Rx
Anyone who wants one flat monthly price they can plan a full year around, on either molecule, without signing a contract.
Visit CoreAge RxSmartPharmaRX
Patients whose provider already e-prescribes to SmartPharmaRX; it isn't a place to start GLP-1 treatment.
Visit SmartPharmaRXThe verdict
CoreAge Rx takes it, leading the Cost-Efficiency Index 94 to 36. CoreAge Rx charges one flat price at every dose, $99 a month for semaglutide and $149 for tirzepatide, with no membership fee. SmartPharmaRX still earns a C — Patients whose provider already e-prescribes to SmartPharmaRX; it isn't a place to start GLP-1 treatment.
Factor by factor
Both providers scored on our six Cost-Efficiency Index factors. The stronger side on each row is marked in teal.
Normalized Cost/Month
Price Transparency
Nationwide Access
Formulation Options
Clinical Oversight
Contract Flexibility
Pricing, coverage & formulary
The disclosed facts behind the scores. Lower price wins its row (teal).
| Spec | CoreAge Rx | SmartPharmaRX |
|---|---|---|
| Cost-Efficiency Index | 94/100 | 36/100 |
| Semaglutide / mo | $99/mo | Not disclosed |
| Tirzepatide / mo | $149/mo | Not disclosed |
| Semaglutide / yr (modeled) | $1,188 | — |
| Tirzepatide / yr (modeled) | $1,788 | — |
| Coverage | All 50 states | Not published |
| Oral / sublingual | No | No |
| Brand-name access | Compounded only | Compounded only |
| Rank here | #1 | #620 |
CoreAge Rx
94/100Where the value is
- One price at every dose: semaglutide is $99 from 0.25 mg up to 2.5 mg, and tirzepatide is $149 from 2.5 mg up to 15 mg
- No membership fee, no insurance needed and no long-term contract, and the price you lock in at checkout stays put as your dose rises
- If the doctor decides a prescription isn't right for you, CoreAge refunds the medication portion of your payment
The tradeoffs
- Not the lowest price around: 35 of the 434 priced semaglutide programs we track list a cheaper figure, though most attach a term or a step-up that CoreAge does not
- You pay before the doctor reviews your case, and if you aren't approved the FAQ promises a 100% refund while the refund policy keeps a $50 to $100 consultation fee
SmartPharmaRX
36/100Where the value is
- A 503A compounding pharmacy that lists tirzepatide and semaglutide under GLP-1 therapies
- Says each preparation is tested for sterility and potency, with endotoxin screening
- Its FAQ says plainly that compounded medications are not FDA-approved
The tradeoffs
- Prescriptions have to come from your provider's e-prescribing system; there's no patient sign-up
- Says it is licensed in 'select states' without listing them
Assume any provider we list may compensate us — we may earn a commission, at no cost to you. It never changes the Cost-Efficiency Index. Pricing, states and verification reflect each provider's public disclosures at last review; prices change — confirm on the provider's site. Not medical advice. See our disclosure.