Head-to-head · Cost-Efficiency Index
Cora Health vs Options Medical Weight Loss
Two GLP-1 programs on the bench, scored on the same six factors. Here's how their real cost of ownership compares — and which one we'd start with.
Cora Health
Shoppers willing to prepay a full year to lock in the lowest per-month rate, who can absorb a $1,188-$1,620 upfront charge.
Visit Cora HealthOptions Medical Weight Loss
Patients near one of its 27 physical clinic locations across PA, AZ, IL, MI, OH, FL, GA, IN, or NC who prefer in-person obesity-medicine care over telehealth.
Visit Options Medical Weight LossThe verdict
Cora Health and Options Medical Weight Loss tie on the Cost-Efficiency Index at 60/100, so neither wins outright on the numbers. For most shoppers we'd start with Cora Health (ranked #248, a hair above #255) — Shoppers willing to prepay a full year to lock in the lowest per-month rate, who can absorb a $1,188-$1,620 upfront charge. But Options Medical Weight Loss is a genuine coin-flip alternative here.
Worth knowing either way: our overall #1 pick is CoreAge Rx (Cost-Efficiency Index 94/100 — the top of the ranking). See how it stacks up: CoreAge Rx vs Cora Health.
Factor by factor
Both providers scored on our six Cost-Efficiency Index factors. The stronger side on each row is marked in teal.
Normalized Cost/Month
Price Transparency
Nationwide Access
Formulation Options
Clinical Oversight
Contract Flexibility
Pricing, coverage & formulary
The disclosed facts behind the scores. Lower price wins its row (teal).
| Spec | Cora Health | Options Medical Weight Loss |
|---|---|---|
| Cost-Efficiency Index | 60/100 | 60/100 |
| Semaglutide / mo | Not disclosed | $199/mo (starting dose, compounded) |
| Tirzepatide / mo | Not disclosed | $399/mo (starting dose, compounded) |
| Semaglutide / yr (modeled) | — | $2,388 |
| Tirzepatide / yr (modeled) | — | $4,788 |
| Coverage | All 50 states | Coverage not published |
| Oral / sublingual | No | No |
| Brand-name access | Compounded only | Compounded only |
| Rank here | #248 | #255 |
Cora Health
60/100Where the value is
- Named Medical Director (Dr. Michael Wasef, MD) and two additional named clinical providers, not an anonymous network
- Two named, PCAB-accredited 503A compounding pharmacies disclosed, including one with a 20+ year operating history
- All-inclusive pricing — no separate membership fee and no per-dose-escalation surcharge
The tradeoffs
- The advertised $99/$135-per-month headline prices require paying $1,188/$1,620 upfront for a full year — a classic prepay-as-monthly presentation; the real month-to-month price is $175/$225
- A reader skimming only the plan-card headline has no way to see the annual commitment without opening the billing fine print
Options Medical Weight Loss
60/100Where the value is
- Rare in-person clinic model with ABOM (obesity-medicine board) certified providers
- LegitScript certified and Newsweek-recognized
- Medication included in the advertised monthly price, not billed separately
The tradeoffs
- Only available in 9 states with in-person locations, heavily concentrated in Illinois and Ohio
- 'Starting at' prices are for the lowest dose only; real cost at higher/maintenance doses not disclosed
Assume any provider we list may compensate us — we may earn a commission, at no cost to you. It never changes the Cost-Efficiency Index. Pricing, states and verification reflect each provider's public disclosures at last review; prices change — confirm on the provider's site. Not medical advice. See our disclosure.