Head-to-head · Cost-Efficiency Index
Concierge MD LA vs Knownwell
Two GLP-1 programs on the bench, scored on the same six factors. Here's how their real cost of ownership compares — and which one we'd start with.
Concierge MD LA
Shoppers who want a named, credentialed medical leadership team and are comfortable with a 4-month minimum commitment despite the 'monthly' billing label.
Visit Concierge MD LAKnownwell
Cost-first shoppers who want insured shoppers who want obesity-medicine-specialist oversight and are comfortable enrolling before seeing a self-pay price.
Visit KnownwellThe verdict
Concierge MD LA and Knownwell tie on the Cost-Efficiency Index at 57/100, so neither wins outright on the numbers. For most shoppers we'd start with Concierge MD LA (ranked #301, a hair above #306) — Shoppers who want a named, credentialed medical leadership team and are comfortable with a 4-month minimum commitment despite the 'monthly' billing label. But Knownwell is a genuine coin-flip alternative here.
Worth knowing either way: our overall #1 pick is CoreAge Rx (Cost-Efficiency Index 94/100 — the top of the ranking). See how it stacks up: CoreAge Rx vs Concierge MD LA.
Factor by factor
Both providers scored on our six Cost-Efficiency Index factors. The stronger side on each row is marked in teal.
Normalized Cost/Month
Price Transparency
Nationwide Access
Formulation Options
Clinical Oversight
Contract Flexibility
Pricing, coverage & formulary
The disclosed facts behind the scores. Lower price wins its row (teal).
| Spec | Concierge MD LA | Knownwell |
|---|---|---|
| Cost-Efficiency Index | 57/100 | 57/100 |
| Semaglutide / mo | $199/mo (all doses, compounded) | Not disclosed |
| Tirzepatide / mo | $299/mo (all doses, compounded) | Not disclosed |
| Semaglutide / yr (modeled) | $2,388 | — |
| Tirzepatide / yr (modeled) | $3,588 | — |
| Coverage | Coverage not published | All 50 states |
| Oral / sublingual | No | Yes |
| Brand-name access | Yes | Yes |
| Rank here | #301 | #306 |
Concierge MD LA
57/100Where the value is
- Named, credentialed leadership: CEO/Founder Dr. Abe Malkin, MD MBA (Family Medicine), Co-Founder/CMO Dr. Neal Kumar, MD MBA (Dermatology), and Medical Director Dr. Jon Snipes, MD
- Now claims genuinely nationwide coverage across 50+ cities, broader than the previously documented LA/NY/25-city limitation
- Flat pricing regardless of prescribed dose simplifies budgeting once enrolled
The tradeoffs
- 'Monthly subscription' billing is misleading: semaglutide actually ships only every 90 days and tirzepatide every 60 days, with a 4-month minimum commitment required on both — a shopper expecting monthly delivery for a 'monthly' price is getting something different
- Brand-name Ozempic is priced at $1,999/month, an extremely high cash price with no insurance coordination mentioned
Knownwell
57/100Where the value is
- Co-founded and clinically led by Dr. Angela Fitch, a named, credentialed obesity-medicine specialist (Chief Medical Officer)
- Prescribes branded FDA-approved GLP-1s across the current class (Wegovy, Zepbound, Ozempic, Saxenda) plus orforglipron/Foundayo
- Explicitly states 'No sign-up fees. No membership dues'
The tradeoffs
- No self-pay dollar figure for any medication is readable anywhere on the accessible site
- In-person care is limited to four states plus Texas 'coming soon' — most of the country can only access the virtual clinic
Assume any provider we list may compensate us — we may earn a commission, at no cost to you. It never changes the Cost-Efficiency Index. Pricing, states and verification reflect each provider's public disclosures at last review; prices change — confirm on the provider's site. Not medical advice. See our disclosure.