Head-to-head · Cost-Efficiency Index
Center for Medical Weight Loss (CMWL) vs Knownwell
Two GLP-1 programs on the bench, scored on the same six factors. Here's how their real cost of ownership compares — and which one we'd start with.
Center for Medical Weight Loss (CMWL)
Shoppers wanting a long-established national weight-loss brand with all-in bundled pricing.
Visit Center for Medical Weight Loss (CMWL)Knownwell
Cost-first shoppers who want insured shoppers who want obesity-medicine-specialist oversight and are comfortable enrolling before seeing a self-pay price.
Visit KnownwellThe verdict
Center for Medical Weight Loss (CMWL) and Knownwell tie on the Cost-Efficiency Index at 57/100, so neither wins outright on the numbers. For most shoppers we'd start with Center for Medical Weight Loss (CMWL) (ranked #300, a hair above #306) — Shoppers wanting a long-established national weight-loss brand with all-in bundled pricing. But Knownwell is a genuine coin-flip alternative here.
Worth knowing either way: our overall #1 pick is CoreAge Rx (Cost-Efficiency Index 94/100 — the top of the ranking). See how it stacks up: CoreAge Rx vs Center for Medical Weight Loss (CMWL).
Factor by factor
Both providers scored on our six Cost-Efficiency Index factors. The stronger side on each row is marked in teal.
Normalized Cost/Month
Price Transparency
Nationwide Access
Formulation Options
Clinical Oversight
Contract Flexibility
Pricing, coverage & formulary
The disclosed facts behind the scores. Lower price wins its row (teal).
| Spec | Center for Medical Weight Loss (CMWL) | Knownwell |
|---|---|---|
| Cost-Efficiency Index | 57/100 | 57/100 |
| Semaglutide / mo | $116/mo (starting dose, compounded) | Not disclosed |
| Tirzepatide / mo | $159/mo (starting dose, compounded) | Not disclosed |
| Semaglutide / yr (modeled) | $1,392 | — |
| Tirzepatide / yr (modeled) | $1,908 | — |
| Coverage | Coverage not published | All 50 states |
| Oral / sublingual | No | Yes |
| Brand-name access | Compounded only | Yes |
| Rank here | #300 | #306 |
Center for Medical Weight Loss (CMWL)
57/100Where the value is
- Long-established, recognizable national brand
- All-in pricing with no separate membership fee
- Ships to all 50 states
The tradeoffs
- No individual medical director or compounding pharmacy named
- Confusing plan structure -- the '3-month plan' is priced higher per month than the base plan, opposite of typical prepay discounts
Knownwell
57/100Where the value is
- Co-founded and clinically led by Dr. Angela Fitch, a named, credentialed obesity-medicine specialist (Chief Medical Officer)
- Prescribes branded FDA-approved GLP-1s across the current class (Wegovy, Zepbound, Ozempic, Saxenda) plus orforglipron/Foundayo
- Explicitly states 'No sign-up fees. No membership dues'
The tradeoffs
- No self-pay dollar figure for any medication is readable anywhere on the accessible site
- In-person care is limited to four states plus Texas 'coming soon' — most of the country can only access the virtual clinic
Assume any provider we list may compensate us — we may earn a commission, at no cost to you. It never changes the Cost-Efficiency Index. Pricing, states and verification reflect each provider's public disclosures at last review; prices change — confirm on the provider's site. Not medical advice. See our disclosure.