Head-to-head · Cost-Efficiency Index
Ascend Medical vs Ivim Health
Two GLP-1 programs on the bench, scored on the same six factors. Here's how their real cost of ownership compares — and which one we'd start with.
Ascend Medical
Cost-first shoppers who want georgia or Texas residents who want to bill GLP-1 treatment through insurance rather than pay cash-only compounded pricing.
Visit Ascend MedicalIvim Health
Cost-first shoppers who want a compounded GLP-1 quoted with the program charge folded in rather than added at checkout.
Visit Ivim HealthThe verdict
Ascend Medical and Ivim Health tie on the Cost-Efficiency Index at 57/100, so neither wins outright on the numbers. For most shoppers we'd start with Ascend Medical (ranked #299, a hair above #305) — Cost-first shoppers who want georgia or Texas residents who want to bill GLP-1 treatment through insurance rather than pay cash-only compounded pricing. But Ivim Health is a genuine coin-flip alternative here.
Worth knowing either way: our overall #1 pick is CoreAge Rx (Cost-Efficiency Index 94/100 — the top of the ranking). See how it stacks up: CoreAge Rx vs Ascend Medical.
Factor by factor
Both providers scored on our six Cost-Efficiency Index factors. The stronger side on each row is marked in teal.
Normalized Cost/Month
Price Transparency
Nationwide Access
Formulation Options
Clinical Oversight
Contract Flexibility
Pricing, coverage & formulary
The disclosed facts behind the scores. Lower price wins its row (teal).
| Spec | Ascend Medical | Ivim Health |
|---|---|---|
| Cost-Efficiency Index | 57/100 | 57/100 |
| Semaglutide / mo | Not disclosed | $149/mo (starting dose, medication and program fee, compounded) |
| Tirzepatide / mo | $240/mo (starting dose, compounded) | $224/mo (starting dose, medication and program fee, compounded) |
| Semaglutide / yr (modeled) | — | $1,788 |
| Tirzepatide / yr (modeled) | $2,880 | $2,688 |
| Coverage | 2 states | Coverage not published |
| Oral / sublingual | No | No |
| Brand-name access | Yes | Compounded only |
| Rank here | #299 | #305 |
Ascend Medical
57/100Where the value is
- Can bill through insurance, potentially lowering out-of-pocket cost versus cash-only compounded programs
- No-subscription, pay-per-refill model after the initial 8-week package
- Named metabolic-health chair referenced on the clinical team
The tradeoffs
- Only available to Georgia and Texas residents -- not a national service
- Unclear whether medication is compounded or brand-name; no compounding pharmacy named
Ivim Health
57/100Where the value is
- Both molecules are priced on one page, each quoted as medication and program charge included rather than as a bare drug price
- A six-month commitment brings tirzepatide down to $133/mo, and the term is published rather than hidden
- The first month of the membership is free
The tradeoffs
- A $75/mo membership is marketed as a separate product, and whether it is charged on top of the $149 medication rate is not stated anywhere we could find
- The $133/mo tirzepatide rate advertised on the homepage requires a six-month commitment; the month-to-month rate is $224
Regulatory note: the FDA issued a warning letter to Ivim Services LLC dba Ivim in February 2026. We still list and link to Ivim Health; you should know the letter is on the public record before you decide.
Assume any provider we list may compensate us — we may earn a commission, at no cost to you. It never changes the Cost-Efficiency Index. Pricing, states and verification reflect each provider's public disclosures at last review; prices change — confirm on the provider's site. Not medical advice. See our disclosure.