Head-to-head · Cost-Efficiency Index
Ascend Medical vs Emerge Weight Loss
Two GLP-1 programs on the bench, scored on the same six factors. Here's how their real cost of ownership compares — and which one we'd start with.
Ascend Medical
Cost-first shoppers who want georgia or Texas residents who want to bill GLP-1 treatment through insurance rather than pay cash-only compounded pricing.
Visit Ascend MedicalEmerge Weight Loss
Shoppers who specifically want tirzepatide with per-dose-tier pricing shown up front, not semaglutide.
Visit Emerge Weight LossThe verdict
Ascend Medical and Emerge Weight Loss tie on the Cost-Efficiency Index at 57/100, so neither wins outright on the numbers. For most shoppers we'd start with Ascend Medical (ranked #299, a hair above #303) — Cost-first shoppers who want georgia or Texas residents who want to bill GLP-1 treatment through insurance rather than pay cash-only compounded pricing. But Emerge Weight Loss is a genuine coin-flip alternative here.
Worth knowing either way: our overall #1 pick is CoreAge Rx (Cost-Efficiency Index 94/100 — the top of the ranking). See how it stacks up: CoreAge Rx vs Ascend Medical.
Factor by factor
Both providers scored on our six Cost-Efficiency Index factors. The stronger side on each row is marked in teal.
Normalized Cost/Month
Price Transparency
Nationwide Access
Formulation Options
Clinical Oversight
Contract Flexibility
Pricing, coverage & formulary
The disclosed facts behind the scores. Lower price wins its row (teal).
| Spec | Ascend Medical | Emerge Weight Loss |
|---|---|---|
| Cost-Efficiency Index | 57/100 | 57/100 |
| Semaglutide / mo | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Tirzepatide / mo | $240/mo (starting dose, compounded) | $224/mo (2.5 mg dose, compounded) |
| Semaglutide / yr (modeled) | — | — |
| Tirzepatide / yr (modeled) | $2,880 | $2,688 |
| Coverage | 2 states | Coverage not published |
| Oral / sublingual | No | Yes |
| Brand-name access | Yes | Compounded only |
| Rank here | #299 | #303 |
Ascend Medical
57/100Where the value is
- Can bill through insurance, potentially lowering out-of-pocket cost versus cash-only compounded programs
- No-subscription, pay-per-refill model after the initial 8-week package
- Named metabolic-health chair referenced on the clinical team
The tradeoffs
- Only available to Georgia and Texas residents -- not a national service
- Unclear whether medication is compounded or brand-name; no compounding pharmacy named
Emerge Weight Loss
57/100Where the value is
- Publishes an actual per-dose price ladder ($224-$289 across five tiers) rather than a single vague 'starting at' figure
- No signup fee and no separate doctor fee — the FAQ states syringes, overnight shipping and medical oversight are bundled into the quoted price
- No minimum commitment; cancel anytime with only a $10 processing fee if an order hasn't shipped yet
The tradeoffs
- No semaglutide product at all — Emerge is tirzepatide-only, so it's not an option for patients who specifically want or are already on semaglutide
- The 'Maintenance Plans from $49 per 4 weeks' line is misleading on its own — refills actually cost $99/vial, so $49 is a floor, not the real recurring price
Assume any provider we list may compensate us — we may earn a commission, at no cost to you. It never changes the Cost-Efficiency Index. Pricing, states and verification reflect each provider's public disclosures at last review; prices change — confirm on the provider's site. Not medical advice. See our disclosure.