Head-to-head · Cost-Efficiency Index
Ascend Medical vs Knownwell
Two GLP-1 programs on the bench, scored on the same six factors. Here's how their real cost of ownership compares — and which one we'd start with.
Ascend Medical
Cost-first shoppers who want georgia or Texas residents who want to bill GLP-1 treatment through insurance rather than pay cash-only compounded pricing.
Visit Ascend MedicalKnownwell
Cost-first shoppers who want insured shoppers who want obesity-medicine-specialist oversight and are comfortable enrolling before seeing a self-pay price.
Visit KnownwellThe verdict
Ascend Medical and Knownwell tie on the Cost-Efficiency Index at 57/100, so neither wins outright on the numbers. For most shoppers we'd start with Ascend Medical (ranked #299, a hair above #306) — Cost-first shoppers who want georgia or Texas residents who want to bill GLP-1 treatment through insurance rather than pay cash-only compounded pricing. But Knownwell is a genuine coin-flip alternative here.
Worth knowing either way: our overall #1 pick is CoreAge Rx (Cost-Efficiency Index 94/100 — the top of the ranking). See how it stacks up: CoreAge Rx vs Ascend Medical.
Factor by factor
Both providers scored on our six Cost-Efficiency Index factors. The stronger side on each row is marked in teal.
Normalized Cost/Month
Price Transparency
Nationwide Access
Formulation Options
Clinical Oversight
Contract Flexibility
Pricing, coverage & formulary
The disclosed facts behind the scores. Lower price wins its row (teal).
| Spec | Ascend Medical | Knownwell |
|---|---|---|
| Cost-Efficiency Index | 57/100 | 57/100 |
| Semaglutide / mo | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Tirzepatide / mo | $240/mo (starting dose, compounded) | Not disclosed |
| Semaglutide / yr (modeled) | — | — |
| Tirzepatide / yr (modeled) | $2,880 | — |
| Coverage | 2 states | All 50 states |
| Oral / sublingual | No | Yes |
| Brand-name access | Yes | Yes |
| Rank here | #299 | #306 |
Ascend Medical
57/100Where the value is
- Can bill through insurance, potentially lowering out-of-pocket cost versus cash-only compounded programs
- No-subscription, pay-per-refill model after the initial 8-week package
- Named metabolic-health chair referenced on the clinical team
The tradeoffs
- Only available to Georgia and Texas residents -- not a national service
- Unclear whether medication is compounded or brand-name; no compounding pharmacy named
Knownwell
57/100Where the value is
- Co-founded and clinically led by Dr. Angela Fitch, a named, credentialed obesity-medicine specialist (Chief Medical Officer)
- Prescribes branded FDA-approved GLP-1s across the current class (Wegovy, Zepbound, Ozempic, Saxenda) plus orforglipron/Foundayo
- Explicitly states 'No sign-up fees. No membership dues'
The tradeoffs
- No self-pay dollar figure for any medication is readable anywhere on the accessible site
- In-person care is limited to four states plus Texas 'coming soon' — most of the country can only access the virtual clinic
Assume any provider we list may compensate us — we may earn a commission, at no cost to you. It never changes the Cost-Efficiency Index. Pricing, states and verification reflect each provider's public disclosures at last review; prices change — confirm on the provider's site. Not medical advice. See our disclosure.